Spring into summer

I have to say that despite the continuing dry weather, a general lack of vegetable seed germination and no strawberries that so far it has been a reasonably good year.

Yesterday morning I cut the comfrey down to ground level, as it had finished flowering, then added it to the compost heap. Note that this is one job that I do wear gloves for.

There are lots of flowers on the broad beans, and thankfully little sign of any blackfly. The carrots that I sowed in a flower bucket filled with compost are growing well. The upturned hanging basket is to stop any wildlife digging them up.

The foliage on the first early potatoes Vales Emerald is starting to die back so I’ll be lifting a couple in two weeks time, when they’ll have been in the ground for ninety days, to see what they’re like.

Yet again my attempt to grow my own tomatoes failed miserably  so I got six Gardener’s Delight plants at the horticultural society trading shed a couple of weeks ago.  I planted them out on Thursday and noticed that two have flowers on them.

I’ve already been deadheading the roses when in past years I’d be looking for buds on them about now!  I’ll be doing a plot roses post sometime soon.

The nasturtiums and pot marigolds are both starting to flower.There aren’t as many as last year but they’re all over the plot, including some of the latter among the potatoes.

I’ve remembered to properly stake and tie the giant single sunflowers. Last year one grew to well over nine feet so I wonder what height the tallest one will reach this year.

Apart from the first raspberries that I mentioned on Thursday what has pleased me most is that the collomia grandiflora has grown so well and just started flowering.  They are lovely tiny flowers each about the size of a finger nail.

I didn’t do a May post about the plot trees as there’s been little change to them except that they’ve grown.  Sadly the hawthorn didn’t blossom but I’ve been told that it should do next year.

The RSPB’s Make your nature count survey started yesterday and runs through to next Sunday, the 12th. It is a one hour survey that they’re asking us all to do of the wildlife seen in the garden or local park.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Spring into summer

  1. Damo says:

    I’ve not seen any blackfly on the broad beans either. Had my first marigold flower and loads of self sown plants popping up everywhere. There’s a whole clump of cornflowers that were self sown from last year and they have been flowering for a month now because of the warmer spring. We had some rain last night so a couple of days off watering which is a nice break!

    • Flighty says:

      Damo fingers crossed that it stays that way! It seems to be a good year for flowers.
      It’s been raining here since last night which is most welcome and much needed!

  2. About your tomatoes – thank goodness it’s not just me! Mine also failed as they were mysteriously eaten down to just a stem so I’ve also succumbed to buying a few plants. Hopefully this will mean success for both of us! (And I’ve spotted loads of blackfly on runner beans growing in a community veg bed in a local park.) Nice update, Flighty! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I keep trying to grow tomatoes from seed but don’t succeed so next year I won’t bother to even try! Blackfly are one reason that I haven’t grown broad beans for a couple of years. Thanks! xx

  3. Jo says:

    Glad you’re not going to be without carrots or tomatoes. I’m growing some carrots in a container too, but the ones at the allotment have germinated this year, that’s a first. It’s nice to see plenty of flowers in amongst the veg.

  4. Debbie says:

    I’ve got yours and Damo’s blackfly, despite pinching out the tops. However, a daily check is saving the young beans that are coming on now and I’ve only lost 3 plants. No sign of parsnips although I’ve sown twice. I love the idea of the upturned hanging basket. Lovely photos, thanks.

    • Flighty says:

      Debbie I’m sorry to hear that! I’ve sown two lots of several vegetable seeds all of which have been ‘no shows’. The hanging basket idea is such a simple solution isn’t it.. Thanks! xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Well, in contrast to your dry weather, we have … rain! Right as I type this comment. What a reversal. But maybe your fruits and vegetables will still come up for you and do well yet. That collomia is new to me — is this new in your garden?

  6. Flighty says:

    Nikki it’s been raining here since last night, which should do all the plants a world of good!
    I have mentioned the collomia before in this post https://flightplot.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/another-good-week/ which is why I’m pleased that it’s doing so well! xx

  7. Maureen says:

    It sounds like your plot is doing remarkably well, Flighty, considering the lack of rain. Well done!

    Now that we finally got some rain, I bet your plot will be coming on even more in leaps and bounds! I know everything in my garden has perked up considerably, especially my roses.

    I missed the news about the survey, so thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen certainly better than I thought it would. Thanks!
      I probably won’t be there until Wednesday when I’m sure the changes will be most apparent.
      I’d bookmarked it then nearly forget to mention it! xx

  8. Mo says:

    It’s lovely to hear how things are going. I’m amazed that you are deadheading Roses already. We have a huge Rambler that is usually in full bloom on 21st June but the bottom half has gone nuts and is in full flower right now.
    We’re doing the Nature Survey 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Mo thanks! I just wonder how long everything will keep flowering for this year as it’s all so early.
      Good for you, and I hope that you see lots of interest! xx

  9. Louise says:

    Your upturned hanging basket trick is amazing – why haven’t I thought of that? Have you ever sniffed ‘comfrey tea’ liquid compost? x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise it’s a trick that a friend uses as she grows everything in containers like that and has to protect them from cats and pigeons.
      Yes I have, and it is rather ‘wiffy’ isn’t it! xx

  10. Glo says:

    Remember me? Sorry I’ve been AWOL, but the weather has been so lovely (at last!) that I’ve been leaping around the garden and gallivanting all over the place. It is now poppy, wild rose time and honeysuckle and roses are budding! See how far behind we are? It sounds like your rain came in time to give some refreshment to your allotment and hopefully encourage your veggies to grow. Everything’s looking good!

  11. Flighty says:

    Glo hello, I was beginning to wonder where you were! That’s okay it’s good to know that you’ve had some good weather and nice flowers.
    The rain was most welcome, and there’s been more since so everything is growing well and, as you say, looking good. xx

  12. Blimey nine foot for a sunflower, this is the first time I tried these my daughters have planted some seeds and I was only going to use a spindly cane, might have to rethink if they get up to that height! Great stuff with everything else

    • Flighty says:

      Matt they can get a lot taller, especially if you can grow them beside a fence or wall. If you’ve nothing else then tape and tie some bamboo canes together to get the length and strength. Thanks!

  13. Everything seems to be coming along splendidly in your garden – I think you are a bit ahead of me at the moment, although when we returned from our hols. I went straight up to the allotment and found a big batch of sweet peas in flower and the raspberry bushes dripping with fruit – I think I am going to be busy picking.

  14. Flighty says:

    Elaine thanks, most of it does! I hope that enjoyed your holiday, and must have been pleased to come back to sweet peas and raspberries. xx

Leave a Reply

