Last, first and other things

Yesterday I had the last of my rhubarb, and the first of the raspberries!  I could see one, found two more, couldn’t resist them and they were delicious.

I also watched this green bird on approach to land at nearby RAF Northolt. It was certainly more noticable than the rather bland, mostly white, business jets that I usually see.

Alison knows that I like butterflies so kindly shared this amazing photo over on Facebook.   Veg Plotting mentioned this really delightful gardening blog on Twitter which caught my eye.

The long running BAFTA award winning TV programme Coast returns with a new series starting on BBC2 Sunday at 8.00pm.

Lots of love-in-a-mist (nigella damascena) is now flowering on the plot and the new header shows some white ones.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Last, first and other things

  1. daffy says:

    Good Morning, Well your fruit looks just scrummy!
    We have a sunny day today so you never know, there may be more butterflies!
    Your online life is certainly busy! With your FB’ing and your twittering and your blogging!
    I think I might have to start recording the garden via the blog…. maybe….
    The Goldfinches were back this morning…the woodpecker..bunnies (!!) and the squirrel! It’s nice to see everything back… I tried in vain to discourage the starlings but I haven’t the heart to chase them off at the moment as the babies need feeding and they are cute! I think I have a couple of good pics so I’ll share on FB later. I told my hubby what I had seen and he claims he saw a unicorn drinking from the soda water stream. *rolls eyes* Men! Always got to do one better!
    Have a great week! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello! Looking at the raspberries will now be the first thing I do at the plot.
      I saw a few fluttering butterflies this morning but none settled.
      Yes it is, and there’s also several gardening forums I’m on as well!
      Lucky you I’ve not seen mine again, but have been seeing a pair of chaffinches every day and a jay a couple of times.
      Thanks, and you too! xx

  2. menhir says:

    Oh My! What a lot of information. Our raspberries don’t fruit as early as yours are. We won’t see wild or openly cultivated ones for another 6-8 weeks. when they arrive, they are deliciously fruity because of their slow growth.

    Thanks for the alert about the Coast programme. I hope it won’t clash with anything else of interest.

    A friend gave me some young chard she brought on for planting, decorative and plain green, both edible. I got them planted in my wee plot just before the volcanic ash cloud and the storms arrived.

    Have you seen signs of the white butterfly that is said to becoming rare…it’s not yet.? I saw some on a walk at the weekend, but I cannot be sure of the description, if they were the same type. Then again, I don’t know how many species of white butterfly there are.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir these are really very early even for here!
      Coast is also being repeated later in the week on BBC2 Friday at 7.30pm.
      Fingers crossed that your chard is okay and grows well.
      There are various white butterflies and I’m not sure which one is becoming rare but will see if what I can find out. xx

  3. Snap – I had my first raspberry this morning – sad thing is, we’re off on hols soon – I hope they don’t all go over before we get back. I saw a lady partridge cross the road in front of my car this morning, followed by two tiny chicks, the third turned back when it saw the car – I hope it found its mum again.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine fingers crossed that there’ll still be plenty when you get back.
      It’s a worrying time with all the young birds learning to make their way in the world at present. xx

  4. Doris says:

    I always learn something new by reading your blog. That “green bird” was very striking! I loved the butterfly (wish I had seen one when I was in Costa Rica). Thanks for the photos and info.

  5. Mo says:

    Raspberries are my favourite fruit; ours are not ready yet 😦
    Some great links, thanks. I especially like the Blog.
    Have a good weekend.

  6. Jo says:

    How lovely that the raspberries are ripening just in time to take over from the rhubarb. I love your new header, it looks very summery.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Well, well. Your first raspberries already! Hope there are many more to come.

  8. Carrie says:

    LOVE your love in the mist, I don’t think I’ve seen white before aren’t they usually blue??? xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie blue is the more familiar colour but I’ve gots lots of both on the plot this year. There are also pink and rose coloured ones neither of which I’ve grown (yet)! xx

  9. Hi Flighty, I polished off some raspberries from the canes on our plot the other day – gorgeous. Your nigella is way ahead of mine, which is merely fluffy foliage, but none the worse for that. I can wait. Off to check the VP-recommended blog. As if I needed any more to try and keep up with!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet raspberries are my favourites! It’ll be worth waiting for as it’s a lovely flower. I know what you mean about more blogs but that one really is worth looking at! xx

  10. Louise says:

    I picked some rhubarb from my garden yesterday, and another half a pound of raspberries, and two and a half pounds of strawberries of which I have had to freeze! Thanks for the links to the garden blogs – I have bookmarked both. I often tend to miss Coast and I know I would love the programme – just wish there were more hours in the day. Love in the mist is great, how it just keeps coming back year after year! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise lucky you as my rhubarb has finished, but I bought some raspberries home today!
      It’s not really a problem missing Coast as it’s often repeated, both full programmes and mini ones.The love-in-a mist has been prolific this year with lots of the white, as well as blue, flowers. xx

Leave a Reply

