Four years ago today…

I wrote this rather brief first post here on Flighty’s plot.

Since then just over half of the posts that I done have charted my horticultural progress. During that time I’ve continually found  that allotmenteering, and blogging about it, has been enjoyable and educational.

As always what has really pleased me has been the number of visitors here, and especially those of you who have commented as well.  Thank you everybody!

I’ve only been to the plot a couple of times during the past week, when I did little more than look round and take a few photos. I was pleased to see the oriental poppy floweringThere were four flowers on it this morning and another four buds.

That’s the plot hotspot,  and a few feet away are the cooler looking common mallows which are covered in flowers.

There was some much needed rain during Thursday and more forecast for tomorrow. That means I won’t be plotting again until Wednesday by which time I’m sure there’ll be plenty of weeding to do, as well as sowing bean and sweetcorn seeds.

Happy plotting!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Four years ago today…

  1. Four years eh? Happy blogplotting Flighty

  2. VP says:

    Congratulations Flighty – 4 years, where does it go eh?

    Yours was one of the first blogs I discovered when I tentatively entered the blogging world and I’ve valued your friendship ever since.

    xx

  3. alison says:

    happy 4 years of plotting and blogging!! and wow! that poppy is so pretty!
    thank you so much for sharing, i love visiting and looking at the wonderful plants and animal photos and learning about them.

  4. Bill says:

    Great blog, Flighty. Keep it coming for another four years … or more. I never fail to learn something from it.

    • Flighty says:

      Bill thanks! I don’t see why not. It’s the same for me as the plotting is keeping me physically active and the blogging mentally active! Cheers.

  5. Jo says:

    Congratulations on your four year blog anniversary, Flighty. I always enjoy your posts so keep them coming. We’ve had a mixed day today weather wise and it’s forcast rain tomorrow, which of course we need, but I was hoping for a day out. Perhaps I’ll leave it till later on in the week.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, kind words like that as such a good incentive!
      It’s been dull and windy here, let’s hope June brings better, settled weather. xx

  6. Congrats Flighty – I have only just started my site this month – hope it is as successful as yours.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine hello and thanks! I’ve added you to my lawn loungers list already, and will give you a mention in a forthcoming post. Give it time and I’m sure that it will! xx

  7. Jenny Aspin says:

    Happy anniversary, Flighty. 🙂

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Congratulations on four years of tracking, plotting, waiting, anticipating, planting, sowing, reaping, admiring, encouraging, photographing, digging, weeding… have I missed anything? Oh, yes! Writing!

  9. Damo says:

    Congratulations Flighty, 4 years and counting!

  10. NiC says:

    Belated Blogday greetings, hope you had a great one and long may it continue!

  11. Four years! You are a veteran indeed – a veteran with a lovely poppy too, I might add. I’m sure that however much weeding you find you have to do it will be nothing on mine. The plot has been sadly neglected, and the fumitory has taken over. The bees love it, the seedlings less so.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet and a few years prior to that with other blogs! Fumitory is one weed I don’t get on the plot, if I did I’d probably leave some as bees love it and it’s a good looking plant!

  12. Glo says:

    HBFBF ! which stands for Happy Belated Fourth Blogiversay Flighty!

    Sorry I’m late for the party, but this way it can last longer. You have provided many wonderful posts, photos, and comments which are enjoyed by lots of us! Your new header is pretty and of course contains your favorite colour flowers!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks! That’s okay, and we seem to have a tradition of long celebrations here in ‘blogland’. That’s nice to know, and a good incentive to continue. I changed the header yesterday, and these white flowers really do catch the eye don’t they! xx

Leave a Reply

