Mixed fortunes

Here in London it was the warmest April on record and the driest for over a hundred years. May has continued  dry, and often been windy which has exacerbated the problem.

Very few of the vegetable seeds that I sowed germinated and I’ve decided that as it’s likely to remain dry, and get even warmer, over the coming months that I won’t sow any more.

My strawberries almost certainly won’t be fruiting but thankfully the raspberries and blackberries still look okay.

All three roses are flowering profusely several weeks earlier than usual. It’s particularly good to see the dog rose doing so well.

There’s a lot of love-in-a-mist now in flower, nearly all blue with just a few white ones.

The oriental poppy has at least a handful of buds on it, and I hope to see at least one flower fully open as they are so colourful  but sadly very short lived.

This year I’ve even got some grapes forming on my vine!

So it looks like being a year of mixed fortunes on the plot with the flowers doing somewhat better than the vegetables.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Mixed fortunes

  1. Jenny Aspin says:

    Not been so extreme here, Flighty but we did have a lovely spring. It’s a shame that we can’t enjoy fine weather without having to feel guilty about its effect on nature.

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny I think that after the long cold winter we all welcomed spring but the lack of rainfall here is becoming a real problem! I agree! xx

  2. Bill says:

    Our spring was a very long, wet spring. In two months we had over six inches of rain. All my flowers shot up a foot almost overnight. As you can see from the pictures on my blog, the Iris are almost five feet tall!

  3. Jo says:

    It’s extremely windy here today and we’ve kept having short bursts of rain over the last week but it’s not making much difference to the dry ground. I’ve watered the seeds which I’ve sown at the allotment to keep them damp and fortunately, they’ve germinated.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s the same here, but with far less rain. Others who have been more diligent with their watering haven’t had much luck with their seeds either.

  4. It’s good that you’ve got some grapes forming to offset the loss of seeds, otherwise it would all be very disheartening. I’ve been germinating seeds indoors where I can keep an eye on them and had intended to begin planting out but, as you say, it’s very windy! I think they’d have a better chance in a less stiff breeze! (That, and if I can keep the pigeons from sitting on the balcony seedlings, grrrr!) Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Carolyn I’m not disheartened yet, and hopefully won’t be if most of the rest grow okay!
      Fingers crossed for your seedlings, and as for pesky pigeons….! xx

  5. Mo says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve had poor germination with your veggies…but hey! you have grapes! and some lovely flowers.
    We’ve had some rain but it’s of little benefit and the wind soon dries the soil surface again.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo thanks, there are other vegetables which should do better. I’ll be well pleased if I do get some grapes!
      It’s the same here. Some noticable cracks have appeared in the ground on the plot and I’m wondering what the coming months will be like! xx

  6. Doris says:

    I hope your mixed fortunes are mostly good. I love the name “love-in-a-mist”.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris I’m sure that they will be! That’s the common name for Nigella damascena which comes in shades of blue, rose and white, and one variety is called Persian Jewels. xx

  7. joan ludbrook says:

    Hi Flighty
    Same in the midlands! very little rain, (on saying that it is at the min) Ive got potatoes and strawberries this year for the 1st time (on our patio) pots are looking big at the min, and few strawberries coming up, I’ve also grown my own tomatoes from seed, not looking to bad,
    will keep you posted
    take care joan x

    • Flighty says:

      Joan hello! I moved my strawberries earlier this year which I’m sure didn’t help.
      Good for you with the tomatoes, I’ve failed yet again with my own and have resorted to buying some! Thanks, you too. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Hmmm, makes me wonder if our weather got swapped! We’re having a rather cool spring with dips into higher temperatures, but definitely cooler. I’m sorry your strawberries won’t be fruiting, but the flowers are still so cute. I wonder if your poppies will do better with the warmer drier weather — maybe you’ll get to see it bloom yet!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s certainly been nothing like a normal spring this year! Me too, although I’m more concerned about the blackberries and raspberries, both of which I prefer. I took a photo of a blooming oriental poppy this morning which I shall include in my next plot post. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Weird weather indeed ~ who would ever think that the UK needed rain! Lovely to see your flowers blooming, but too bad about some of your vegetables. I hope the weather sorts itself out and you are able to harvest your rasps and blackberries. One just never knows what to expect!

  10. Flighty says:

    Glo the south has had virtually no rain whilst the north has had plenty! I’m thankful for the flowers, which do compensate somewhat for the lack of vegetables. I’m hopeful that the blackberries and raspberries will be okay!
    We sure don’t, and climate change seems to have made it all the worse. xx

  11. lisa says:

    Wow.. I thought it rained there every day. We’ll try to send some of our abundance of rain that way.

  12. Karen says:

    Do you know, I never realised you were in London, (I have no idea where I thought you were for some unknown reason) that will teach me to pay more attention in future. And here is some totally useless, and random information – I’m a Londoner Flighty!

    • Flighty says:

      Karen I’ve always lived hereabouts, originally in nearby Ruislip and for the past 30 plus years in Harrow so I don’t consider myself a proper Londoner. Both of course are outer London with plenty of countryside almost on the doorstep. xx

  13. Karen says:

    For a Londoner I was spoilt for outdoor space, I lived near Hampstead Heath! My strawbs are not as good this year :/ Your flowers are looking lovely, I’m growing Cosmos this year from seed, doing really well too!
    Have a great weekend Flighty xx

Leave a Reply

