One highlight of the year…

for many gardeners is the annual RHS Chelsea Flower Show which is on next week.

I have been to a couple, both some years ago, and didn’t really enjoy them. I’m not that keen on the TV presentation either as both Alan Titchmarsh and Joe Swift irritate me somewhat, and last year there was far too much emphasis on various minor celebrities for which the BBC was rightly rebuked.

As usual there is extensive TV coverage, which is on BBC1 and BBC2 from Sunday onwards as detailed here, and despite any misgivings I may have I shall probably end up watching some of it as I invariably always do.

Edited Sat, 21 May to add The Complete Guide to Chelsea

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to One highlight of the year…

  1. Jo says:

    I usually watch most of the coverage on TV. That’s next weeks viewing mapped out for me.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Maybe they’ll focus more on the gardens themselves this year… Enjoy your weekend watching!

  3. Mo says:

    I won’t be watching, it’s never appealed to me, all to regimented, even the ‘natural’ bits have been carefully planned. But, I can see it’s appeal to others and it is an ‘Institution’ that I would be sad to see go.
    Have a good weekend yourself šŸ™‚

  4. Ha, my sentiments exactly! Went to Malvern last year and enjoyed that tremendously. Chelsea is IMO such a hype, but like you, I will be watching telly if at home.

    Enjoy your weekend!

    XXX Yolanda

  5. Damo says:

    I normally watch the highlight shows, particularly for the veg stands which are amazing!

  6. Glo says:

    Hope you enjoy them Flighty. šŸ™‚

  7. Louise says:

    I really enjoy watching the Chelsea coverage on the TV, and because at work 4 days this week, I have been catching up with most of it on iPlayer. I must say though this year I haven’t been blown away by any of the gardens. Any other year has seen me sent into a blind panic about my own! x

Leave a Reply

