Plotwatching

Apart from the usual honey bees, ladybirds and spiders, such as this common hunting spider which I photographed just over a month ago, I’d seen little other wildlife in recent weeks.

However yesterday I arrived to see a blue tit on the rose Pretty lady, which has started flowering several weeks earlier than usual.

It then flew over to the hawthorn for a moment before flying off. This is the first one that I’ve seen on the plot since the ones that used the bird feeders I had a couple of years ago, before they were destroyed by squirrels.

I’ve seen few foxes anywhere on the site over the past year so I was well pleased to watch, then photograph, this one yesterday.It’s standing on the path at the bottom western edge of the plot. I think that it’s Fox Sparky,  and I shall confirm that with plot neighbour Lorna when I next see her.  On Sunday she was telling me that last week she had enjoyed watching two cubs playing at the back of her plot where foxes have long been resident.

Some days the peace and quiet has been disturbed by two or three mallard ducks quacking loudly as they’ve flown around overhead.  They live on the adjacent ecology park pond.

Plot neighbour Trevor has been well pleased at having a wren nesting in his shed, and with blue tits that have been using one of his nest boxes.

Happy plotwatching, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Plotwatching

  1. Jo says:

    Nice to see that the foxes are still about, he looks in good shape too. It sounds like you’ve got plenty of wildlife on the plot to keep your eye on.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it sure is, and he looks good but does have a slight limp. Yes there’s nearly always something of interest, today I saw a black ladybird with two red spots. xx

  2. Zoe says:

    Its so nice to see such a healthy looking fox mooching around on an allotment. With the mass hysteria over foxes in the last year it’s refreshing for someone to actually enjoy seeing one rather than shrieking with fear & calling the exterminators.

    • Flighty says:

      Zoe hello and welcome! The resident ones generally look good and healthy . Thanks, I like foxes but I wish that people would remember that they are wild animals, and should be treated accordingly. xx

  3. deyank says:

    Foxes are extremely cool. Once in a while we can spot them out in the countryside around us – but you have to look for them. Urban encroachment has all but taken over. We lost another four-acre plot of trees to a dentist office and a parking lot just last month.

    • Flighty says:

      Deyank they are indeed! They are seen far less often in the countryside. Sadly it’s urban development like that which has caused a lot of the problems for wildlife.

  4. Mo says:

    I do like to see foxes – that’s a good photo! We’ve been extremely lucky in the fox department (touch wood) – I’m very much a NIMBY on foxes though since we have chickens. There are some in the area though, Steve has seen some on early morning walks.
    I like your spider too 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Mo me too, and thanks! I can understand anyone who keeps chickens feeling like that. I see, and often photograph, plenty of spiders but that’s the best picture so far. xx

  5. Jenny Aspin says:

    Lovely photo of the fox, Flighty. 🙂

  6. Doris says:

    I love the fox! I’m even beginning to appreciate spiders. Great photos!

  7. alison says:

    nice photo of the fox looking back at you 🙂
    it fascinates me to follow your blog posts and see the change of seasons and also the interesting lives of plants and animals in your plot. it’s like a documentary 😀 happy gardening flighty!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, you even got the fox posing for you! Well done. Your rose is looking very healthy and even blooming. Is that centaurea montana blooming next to it? Lovely combination.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it was more like being lucky when I took it! Thanks.
      That rose is really looking good and is covered in buds so should be wonderful over the coming weeks. Yes it is, but that’s just about finished flowering. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Hello there Fox Sparky! Nice of him to peek through for his photo 🙂 You have buds and blooms on your Pretty Lady rose bush??? Sunny weather certainly helps…and that’s why there are no buds on my roses yet 😉 Everything’s looking good on the plot…it will be fun to see vines climbing up those poles; I think the Canuck boys will be busy this year (instead of dipping their toes in the pond, as is their usual past-time !)

    • Flighty says:

      Glo he’s the one I catch glimpses of very occasionally but he is very wary. All the roses have buds and blooms which is way earlier than usual.
      Thanks, it’ll be runner beans climbing those canes. The boys will be out and about on the plot very soon now, when I’ll take a photo of them. xx

  10. That’s a very healthy looking fox you have there. Not seen any up on ours, or any blue tits – lots of pigeons and crows, and thanks to the beehives, lots of bees! The ladybirds seem to have all disappeared though, which is a great shame. Now I really must stop catching up with blogs and go and do some weeding instead…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thankfully yes he is as there have been others who haven’t. There are plenty of crows and pigeons here, and like you lots of bees. I’m still seeing plenty of ladybirds including a black one with two red spots which was rather unusual.
      I did some weeding this morning and I’m now catching up with the blogs. It’s always one or the other isn’t it! xx

Leave a Reply

