Some new and old favourites

Taking a well deserved break is Glo(Porcelain Rose) who last week decided to put her blog on hold for a while. I’m not surprised as she had posted daily since the beginning of the year, which is just over 120 posts.  That’s about my yearly output so I reckon that’s some achievement, especially as nearly all the posts were what I call proper ones with plenty of photos and links. A few years ago I did a daily post for a month which I found hard going.

If you’ve never seen a rhubarb plant flower and seed then have a look at Mo’s recent posts Rhubarb Rhubarb Rhubarb…, Rhubarb Flower Developments, Rhubarb Going to Seed and Fed Up of Rhubarb?

There are some new lawn loungers who I’ll introduce properly sometime soon.  One I will mention now is Steff with her I love flower beetles blog, which is great for anyone who is interested in these fascinating insects.

Springwatch returns at the end of the month starting on Monday 30th May on BBC2 at 8.00pm.  This year sees it at a new home, RSPB Ynys-hir, which is a wildlife haven in the heart of Wales. I’ll mention it again the week before it starts.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn loungers, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Some new and old favourites

  1. Jo says:

    I would never find the time to blog daily, I admire anyone who can keep it up for more than a few days. There’s some interesting links on your post, I shall have a look at them shortly.

  2. Ahhh thanks Flighty for giving my i love flower beetles blog a mention 🙂
    I had a look at Mo’s rhubarb, my mum grows this too – I didn’t realise it self-seeded though. Think of all that rhubarb crumble! :p

  3. As for writing a daily post, phew that’s a lot of work. It always takes me a couple of hours just editing photos for my blog, let alone writing them. With all this sunshine, I’m just going to post at the weekends.

    • Flighty says:

      Steff it sure is, and often time consuming when links and photos are included.
      I don’t blame you, I generally just post on Thursdays and Sundays. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I could hardly keep up with that Glo with daily photos and bird sightings and gorgeous scenery. She has a lot of material to work with!

  5. Mo says:

    Wow! Thanks so much for the exposure, Flighty! I’m sure most of my few followers are well fed up of my Rhubarb posts, but I’ve found it interesting.
    I’m not surpised Glo has taken a break, her posts are simply amazing but I’ve struggled to keep up, which is a shame.
    I’m finding that I have lots I’d like to Blog about but no time to do it, and then deciding which subject to pick… This means I’m falling down on my reading too.
    Your posts are nicely spaced and interesting, I like visiting here 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Mo you’re welcome, I found them all interesting and well worth a mention!
      I think that daily posts like hers were simply unsustainable, much as I would like to have seen them continue.
      I’ve always found that it’s like that. Thanks, I’ve always done a couple of posts a week, and that’s nice to know! xx

  6. Ellie says:

    I know the problem of sustaining a blog only too well – I find it hard to spend any spare time indoors at the moment – apart from gardening, I can’t bear missing out on the light and sun after the long, dark winter we had.

    Loved the posts on rhubarb – I love it for both crumbles and its striking appearance. Strangely enough, someone told me yesterday that rhubarb is the only thing that goats won’t eat. I’d love to know if that’s true! x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie not only you but me and everyone else at times probably. I don’t blame you and I’ve been making the most of the good weather as well!
      Interesting aren’t they! I’ve never heard that about goats, and like you would be interested to see if that’s so. xx

  7. Glo says:

    Thanks for the mention and kind words Flighty … and your commenters 🙂 I popped back in for a post today just to catch up a bit.

Leave a Reply

