A touch of summertime!

It makes a welcome change to enjoy sunny, warm weather at Easter!

I see plenty of crows hereabouts but I’d never seen any on the plot until this one, and another, walked along the top edge on Thursday morning.You can also see onions, rhubarb, aquilegias (bottom right),  love-in-mist (on the left) which has Jerusalem artichokes and a few poppies growing through it and michaelmas daisies (on the right).

I was there early on Friday morning and saw a fox on a nearby path, although when it saw me it stopped then turned tail. It’s the first one I’ve seen for ages and it’s good to know that they’re still around.

The good weather means that many of the plants are flourishing,  and the perennial cornflowers have started flowering.

On Friday morning the first poached egg plant flower unfurled to provide a touch of summertime!

Plenty of last years love-in-a-mist self seeded, with the new plants showing lots of flower buds.

Plot neighbour Joe kindly gave me two lots of  lupins a couple of weeks ago, and it’s noticable how much they’ve grown since.

Earlier in the week I removed the two old  teasels that were still standing and cleared round the new ones. These are such impressive plants when fully grown, and great for wildlife.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A touch of summertime!

  1. Mo says:

    Thank you for sharing your touch of summer. You have reminded me that our teasels are still standing at the back of the house 🙂
    It’s certainly been a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo you’re welcome! I only removed mine so that the new ones can flourish.
      It sure has, and there was some welcome rain here yesterday evening! xx

  2. Jenny Aspin says:

    Enjoy your weekend, Flighty and Happy Easter. 🙂

  3. You’ve got many of my favourites there Flighty, enjoy the weekend

  4. Doris says:

    I love all your photos that are just bursting with the spirit of spring. Nice to know of your fox sighting.

  5. Jo says:

    I’m hoping that this is only a ‘touch’ of summertime and not all the summer we’re going to get. My aquilegia in the garden is just about to open, they’re lovely flowers and self seed very easily. I had a perennial cornflower but lost it last year so I’ve sown some more to plant out later. I’ve linked to your blog in my latest post because, as you predicted in your reply to me, I saw an Orange Tip butterfly today.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes me too as it could be a very odd growing season! I’ve remembered to stake mine this year as the plot is very exposed and I have lost mine in the past.
      I’m surprised that you lost your cornflower as they’re pretty hardy perennials.
      I’ve seen your post and commented, thanks for the linked mention. Good to know that you saw one! xx

  6. Gorgeous pictures of your summer plot, everything looks very happy indeed! xx

  7. Glo says:

    How lovely that you are still enjoying good weather, with a little bit of rain to keep things growing. Your plants are coming along well, and look so tidy. This must be the best start ever for your allotment plants. I don’t get crows here either, except last year near the end of cherry ripe season

    PS thanks for posting link to the E award on your previous post 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s seem incredible that we’ve two months of continous good weather. There was an hour or two of very welcome rain on Saturday evening. It’s certainly been my best start!
      You’re welcome and thanks again for the award! xx

  8. Looking lovely Flighty. I’m growing Jerusalem Artichokes for the first time this year – don’t they shade out the poppies and the Love-in-the-mist? If not I shall sow some alongside mine…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks! I don’t think so as mine get the sun all day and the artichokes don’t really get growing yet awhile. I’ll take some more photos later on so you’ll see what it’s like. xx

  9. Damo says:

    Hope you had a good Easter Flighty and you’re enjoying this unseasonably warm weather we’re having!

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I love that about cosmos — that self-seeding habit is a good one 🙂 Your plot is thriving with all that sunshine and TLC. Lupins grow alongside many of our highways both yellow ones and blue ones. Which did you get? I was reading up on my currently blooming Huldine clematis and saw that it’s supposed to be pruned in Feb/March and that it blooms from July to September. Hmmm. I think we’re a little off schedule. Or maybe we’re having “a touch of summertime” too!

  11. Flighty says:

    Nikki there’s lots of buds on them as well! Thanks, it sure is. I don’t know what colour the lupins are so we’ll have to wait and see!
    In view of the weather the past two months I think that we’re going to have that ‘problem’ with lots of plants here as well. xx

Leave a Reply

