The letter E…

continues the occasional series of posts on a sort of Plot A to Z.

The only plot plant is Eschscholzia californica, more familiarly known as the california poppy, which is a delightful easy to grow annual. This also gives me an excuse to show this photo again which I think is one of my very best. Thanks to my book on British Garden Wildlife I can now tell you that the hover-fly is an episyrphus balteatus.

It’s Easter this weekend, and there’s a couple of TV programmes worth mentioning.

Tomorrow there is an hour long Easter special Gardeners’ World on BBC2 starting at 8.00pm, and on Monday BBC2 at 8.00pm there’s a Springwatch Easter Special.

Happy Easter!

Thanks toΒ Glo (Porcelain Rose) who has given me this Award of Eggcellence!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The letter E…

  1. Glo says:

    An ‘E’ award for you πŸ™‚
    E copy

    You’re right, your photo of the Eschscholzia californica and Episyrphus balteatus is exemplary of excellence! The two combined look like an exotic butterfly!

    Hope you have an extra special Easter ~ with chocolate in it.

  2. I just spotted your latest post as I was about to pack up for my weekend away… what a wonderful photo! and, in my humble opinion, you’re well justified in being proud of it. I expect it took a lot of patience and stillness to get this, and well worth the effort. (And, may I say, how clever of you to know the Latin names! Impressive!) Hope you enjoy the Easter weekend, Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks! I think that this photo, like most of my best ones, was a take and fingers crossed one. I’m hopeless with the Latin names and always have to look them up.
      Thanks again, and you too! xx

  3. Excellent photo – and showing off of knowledge πŸ˜‰ I love Californian poppies. They have seeded themselves in the gravel around my pond, so I am hoping for loads of colour soon. Happy Easter!

  4. Mo says:

    Eee By Gum! That’s a grand photo πŸ™‚

    Have a great Easter Weekend, Flighty.

  5. Doris says:

    What a great picture! It makes me think of a yellow Pansy with the fly being part of the Pansy’s pattern. I love Pansies and California Poppies! We have the Poppies growing wild on our west coast here in Canada.
    Happy Easter!

  6. Fabulous says:

    I just love all your photo’s. It is such a summery flower.
    I will be watching the Easter special. x

  7. Louise says:

    Rather like the bombus lapidarius I see in my garden! I must make a mental note re Easter Springwatch Special. Congratulations on the award Flighty. Have a nice Easter weekend plotting, and relaxing on Sunday. x

  8. crazykites says:

    Happy Easter, Flighty. In my family, it’s tradition to put chocolate eggs in the garden on Easter Sunday. I don’t live at home, so I’ll perhaps secretly plant some chocolate in our new window boxes on the balcony. Will you be keeping up with any Easter traditions? Enjoy your weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Crazykites hello and thanks! I remember hunting for chocolate eggs that my mum had hidden in the garden. I don’t really celebrate Easter nowadays apart from eating some chocolate!
      Thanks again, and you too! xx

Leave a Reply

