I’m well pleased…

at what I’ve achieved since I started plotting again at the beginning of March.   It’s all looking good, as it should do, as I’ve spent plenty of time happily working away in what has been a surprisingly prolonged spell of good weather.

The onions were the first to appear with the leaves now at least a couple of inches tall. There are gaps in the rows where some haven’t appeared but I’ll get more today to plant out during the week. It’s been so dry that I decided to water them yesterday which is something that I generally don’t do.

Potato foliage has now started appearing with all the first earlies Vales Emerald visible.

The broad beans Witkiem manita are also showing, although there were some gaps where I sowed the seeds I had left over.

It’s always a relief to see the first signs of growth like this, and I’m now eagerly anticipating everything else.

Last week I sowed lots more flower, along with a few vegetable, seeds and I’ve now reached the stage where although there’s still more to be sown over the next month or so it’ll mostly be weeding, watering if need be and waiting.

I’ve seen a few fluttering butterflies, mostly whites and what I’m pretty sure was a male orange-tip, along with lots of honey bees drinking from the pond.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m well pleased…

  1. Doris says:

    So nice to see all these shoots coming up and the bee. I checked out the male “Orange tip” – lovely!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    So rewarding to see things sprouting! So much good stuff to anticipate when your new sprouts take off.

  3. Glo says:

    Great to see results sprouting! We are still having frost at night here, so too early for planting outside. That’s why it’s extra special to see yours doing so well! You must feel a good sense of accomplishment. Have you planted any sunflowers yet, or are the Canuck boys going to be holding up beans? 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure is! There were a couple of hard overnight frosts here mid May last year so I’m bearing that in mind with what I’m planting and sowing. Thanks, and I do!
      I’ve sowed various sunflowers seeds, and also noticed some self-seeded ones have appeared. The boys will be back out on the plot soon, probably on the bean canes! xx

  4. Jo says:

    You should be pleased, all your effort certainly shows and is paying off. It’s nice to see a more unusual butterfly, I’ve seen lots of Peacocks recently.

  5. Mo says:

    Blimey! Your onions are well advanced! Ours have not been in long though. Our first earlies outside are peeking through too. We’re nervous about a May cold snap too.
    Nice to see how things are coming along.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo they were planted over three weeks ago, and this one probably has the tallest leaves! Rightly so I think as it’s quite likely there’ll be some frosty nights.
      Thanks! xx

  6. Louise says:

    Such a privilege to see an Orange Tip! I have only ever seen one in my garden a few years back. I can imagine things are moving on as quick on your plot, as they are in my garden. I am all for Happy Gardening too! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise yes indeed! I don’t recollect seeing one before, and I also note that other people have seen them over the past few days as well.
      This good weather has made all the difference. Good for you! xx

  7. Yes, things are warming up nicely down in good ol’ London, aren’t they? My red onions, planted just a few weeks ago are showing about an inch of growth and my spinach is coming along nicely – time to sow another row or two, I think! I’m a bit behind elsewhere although to look at the herb bed you’d think it was midsummer. I, too, have seen a honey bee … he woke me up this morning, buzzing loudly on the inside of my bedroom window but a few moments later was safely on his way. Now if I could only find a few more ladybirds to deal with the aphid explosion!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro they are indeed! I’m sure that you’ll soon catch up.
      A plot neighbour has several hives so there are always honey bees buzzing around. The more ladybirds the better!

  8. M says:

    looking brilliant there; I’m jealous — haven’t had chance to plant up anything this year (I’m hardly around; and when I am, I’m eating/sleeping); looking forward to seeing the bumper harvest when the time comes!

  9. I’m not sure anything beats the sight of new growth from seeds you planted yourself. Things are looking good! What flowers did you sow?

  10. joan ludbrook says:

    Hi Flighty
    We went on a lovely walk around edge of our local nature reseve, and seen a few orange tip butterfly, they are lovely, also seen couple red admiral, and whites, also heard woodpecker, it was a delight to hear the sounds and sites on the walk, on sunday we went on another local walk where we passed through a wood covered in bluebells
    all the best joan

  11. I just adore Orange Tip butterflies, very lucky to have spotted a few in the garden too. Love the bee photo!

    • Flighty says:

      Karen I’m not surprised as they are such a lovely looking butterfly, and it’s good to see that so many people have seen them this year.
      Thanks! xx

Leave a Reply

