More daffodils, and all about socks!

I’ve started to deadhead some daffodils just as these last ones began to flower about a week a go.

Among them are a couple of frilly doubles.

I like these bi-coloured mini ones which are in the long planter.

I’ve started picking and eating my own rhubarb this week, and needless to say it’s delicious!

I have one globe artichoke which grows on the wild area. I left the flower heads on it over the winter and they now look like this.

At the bottom of the photo you can see new leaves growing which close up look like this.

Apart from Tuesday the weather has been good again and I’ve put the bean canes up, planted my few dahlias along with some gladioli (variety unknown) that I was given.

Yesterday I was checking the strawberries to see if they were okay after moving them last month and look what I found!

On Monday over on Sofa flying I did a post All about socks! which should make you  smile.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to More daffodils, and all about socks!

  1. Mo says:

    As an adult I now realise that my Grandad would go deadheading for some peace and quiet, but he seemed happy enough to have me tag along 🙂
    It’s interesting to see the Globe Artichoke in it’s ‘before and after’, and wonderful to see your Strawberry survivors 🙂

  2. Jo says:

    My daffodils are just about finished now too. I noticed a couple of flowers on the strawberries at the start of the week, hope that means we’re in for bumper crops.

  3. Spectacular artichoke head, Flighty! I adore these plants, they’re magnificent when full grown. Am trying to find a space to grow a couple of artichokes this year – Violet de Provence. I succumbed to seed buying when I saw the photos on the web! You’ve also reminded me that I have to move my strawberries from last year’s runners, they need to be moved to a place with slightly more sunshine. (Now heading off to read about your socks!) Caro xx

  4. VP says:

    Just had my second bowl of rhubarb and custard this week. Yum 🙂

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Wow wow wow — look at all that new growth on your plot! I’m partial to double blooms and those daffs are very sweet looking. Hoping to check out your socks post soon.

  6. Glo says:

    I guess your weather is moving spring right along! My daffodils are still opening, but it has been chilly here even when it is bright. You have a lovely selection, and more planting done! Imagine seeing a strawberry flower already. Rhubarb and custard…yes, please 🙂

    LOL about the socks. That was such fun…because of you and your bed socks 🙂 Thanks for the link on the other site.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s been sunny and warm, with more to come! That is making everything grow but there’s already talk of it being too dry and possible hosepipe bans!
      I’ll be sowing more next week, and eating more rhubarb.
      My bed socks were well used this winter, and they always remind me of that post and the poems. You’re welcome! xx

  7. No rhubarb for me yet 😦 Dahlias are still lurking in the greenhouse, just starting to throw up shoots. So much to do, so little time, and so sunny I just want to lounge the weekend away! Will go read about socks instead…

    • Flighty says:

      Janet yours won’t be long I’m sure! These are the first dahlias I’ve grown so it’ll be interesting to see how I do with them.
      That’s true but thankfully I’m well ahead at the moment. Good idea, I hope that you enjoy that post! xx

  8. Damo says:

    Most of my daffs are gone now but I’m loving the tulips. Lots of new growth and promise ahead!

  9. Louise says:

    I bought some gladioli for this summer, after seeing some in large pots in Carol Klein’s garden. I’ve no idea how to plant them though, so all very hit ‘n miss. I’ve also ordered dahlias, as I managed to kill mine off from last year! I have quite a few sticks of rhubarb to pick, but no flowers on my strawberries just yet. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise they’re wonderful flowers in full bloom! I don’t think that I’ve ever seen them in pots. Oh dear, I hope that the new ones survive! Enjoy your rhubarb, and here’s to the strawberries to come! xx

  10. Yup! My strawbs have flowers too! Can’t wait for yummy strawbs! My dahlia are in pots in the greenhouse and doing really well so far.

Leave a Reply

