Another good week!

It was glorious weather all week so I planted out all the onion sets, 60 each Sturon and Turbo, and the well chitted seed potatoes, 20/25 each of four varieties.

This year I didn’t dig trenches for the potatoes but used my bulb trowel to dig individual holes. Thankfully that proved to be a relatively easy and quick task, although it was a rather boring one.

Here’s the daffodil Rip van Winkle againshown along with the other mini ones, of which the tallest are no more than a foot high, in the long planter.

Some of the large, tall ones around the plot had keeled over so I cut these to bring home. Close up they really are wonderful flowers, and this one is four inches across.

The hyacinths in the square planter are flowering and when they’ve  finished they’ll be replanted out on the plot then I’ll sow an annual, probably linaria maroccana which I have grown before. In the autumn I’ll plant some new bulbs for next spring.

These seedlings have appeared in the past week or so much to my surprise.  I think that they are collomia grandiflora, and if they are then the plants that ellie2cats kindly sent me last year did self seed!

Apart from the ever present robins I’ve seen several bumble bees and lots of ladybirds.  Off plot I saw my first butterfly of the year on Friday morning, but it was on the wing so I’m not sure what it was. Out front at home I got a good look at a jay for a change, and the pair of blue tits have been flitting to and fro with nesting material the past couple of days.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Another good week!

  1. VP says:

    It’s a busy time! I’ve been pondering just digging out holes for the potatoes too, but our dry March means the tiller we’ve inherited from NAH’s will need to be wielded to hammer out some trenches for them instead!

  2. Mo says:

    I’ll bet those hyacinths smell lovely? Mo

  3. Louise says:

    My garden is full of bumbles, including very large buff-tailed ones. I’ve seen my first butterfly as you know, and two ladybirds! x

  4. Jo says:

    I dug holes for the potatoes last year and I’ll do the same again this year, it’s much easier than digging out trenches. I haven’t seen any bumble bees yet this year, but I’ve seen two butterflies, both Red Admirals, and loads of ladybirds.

  5. Debbie says:

    I saw my first butterfly today too. Unfortunately it was a cabbage white and was heading for my cold frame aaaaargh. You’re a few days ahead of me Flighty, but I’m off to the plot later today to plant my onions, shallots and the last lot of spuds, after spending the morning in the potting shed sowing seeds. Lovely.

    • Flighty says:

      Debbie that’s very early for a cabbage white, and it just may have been a female brimstone.
      It sounds like you had a rather busy but most enjoyable day! xx

  6. deyank says:

    We’re still experiencing light frosts here. My Daffodils have bloomed, but so far that’s all. I’ll get some pictures when the hyacinths pop out.

    • Flighty says:

      Deyank we’ve been really lucky with the weather but could still get frosts here.
      It’s good to see them all start flowering again isn’t it. Cheers!

  7. Never thought of using a bulb planter, could make it even easier – don’t think I will ever be a trench girl when it comes to potatoes, though I do admire other people’s neat potato beds. bet my back hurts less though! Am looking forward to planting some daffs at the plot this Autumn, we attempted to rescue a handful we found when clearing, but a good bright show that I won’t feel guilty for cutting for the house is a must!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet obviously the soil needs to have been well dug beforehand but even so it certainly was easier!
      Look round any allotment site at this time of year and you’ll generally see lots of daffodils, which are a welcome sight when there’s not much else of interest. xx

  8. Doris says:

    Oh … I can’t wait until I can see a butterfly! I was happy to see my first chipmunk last week-end and several woodchucks yesterday. I also heard geese flying over head although I couldn’t spot them.

    Love your daffodils! : -)

  9. Flighty says:

    Doris it’s always good to see butterflies! Good to know that you’re seeing, or hearing, wildlife of interest.
    Thanks! xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Glorious weather. Isn’t that an amazing blessing? We’ve had rain off and on so the skies have been filled with beautiful fluffy white clouds. Sounds like you’ve had another very productive week with plantings and sightings and smiling as you note all the new growth on the plot. Your daffs are so charming. I’m looking forward to seeing your linaria.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it really has been ideal weather for plotting all month! I did indeed, and another good morning today. There’s some daffodils to some!
      Me too as I remember that the lineria I grew before had lovely flowers. xx

  11. Glo says:

    Since you had your allotment so well prepared, it must have been just wonderful for the weather to be so obliging, in order for you to plant your potatoes, onions etc. I bet you were skipping to the plot with a spring in your step 🙂 Lovely flowers, too. How’s the pond?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s really been as good as it gets all round! Perhaps not skipping in my wellies but certainly with a sense of keenness. Thanks.
      I’ve tidied up in, and around, both ponds, and taken a few photos, so expect a plot ponds post sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

