I’m all ready now…

to start planting and sowing on the plot, which I’ll do either next week or the week after.

Last week I spent three more mornings digging and weeding, including clearing the overgrown flower bed of grass which sure looks a lot better now!

Thanks to Debbie, a fellow UK Veg Gardeners member and friend, one new flower I’ll be growing is  cornflower Sweet Sultan (Centaurea moschata). She’s kindly sent me some as a thank you for the seeds I sent her.

I’ve also got to decide where to plant the three dahlias Zingaro that I bought last week. It’ll be interesting to see how I get on with these as it’s a plant I’ve not grown before.

I even worked my way round all the edges and cut the grass on the paths.  Although I only emptied the compost heap two weeks ago it’s already more than half full again. Of course as it decomposes that will shrink somewhat, but it’s a good start to making next year’s compost.

The SoCal Birdie… is now a plot resident. I had a rethink and haven’t fixed it permanently to the shed.   I’ve nailed two small netting staples to the inside of the door so that I can slide it down into them but have to remove it to close it. It looks like it’s perched on the top of the door when in place.

I got a good, close look at Mr Robin one day and the black mark under his right eye is clearly a scar, and is one of several. It’s also noticable that he doesn’t quite close his beak. Thankfully for all that he seems okay. At long last I also got a photo of Mrs Robin!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m all ready now…

  1. Jo says:

    You’ve been busy again, it’s a weight off the mind when you’re all ready for the off, isn’t it? You’ve succumbed to the dahlia craze too. I can see where those get their name from, they’re very zingy. I’ve just bought another one today, a yellow variety this time.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I sure have, and yes it certainly is!
      Just these few to see how I get on, and I don’t really have room for many. I like yellow flowers! xx

  2. oh, look at your robin! he’s definitely a keeper, but quite different from ours as you mentioned. i’m quite jealous that you’re getting ready to plant 🙂 happy seeding!

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Congratulations on such a plant-ready plot! I was inspired by your good work all week long and tackled my messy container plants. Plus, yesterday was perfect weather for it. I don’t have pretty robins to follow me around but I do have a feline or two and a mocking bird who likes to toss out bark and citrus leaves.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks! I’m sure that it was all worthwhile and your container plants will soon be a picture of colour.
      I’m not sure that cats and birds are the best combination in the garden! xx

  4. Glo says:

    If you keep this up, you’ll be getting the Posh award! Your hard work is evident with everything looking so tidy and organized ~ ready and waiting. It must be a great feeling to be ahead of the game. Mrs. Robin is very sweet and I’m sure the pair of them are delighted to belong to such a lovely looking plot!

  5. Flighty says:

    Glo I’ll try to keep it nice and tidy but I’m sure that the weeds will conspire against me.
    It’s good to know that I can now plot at a nice steady pace.
    She is, and they certainly make full use of the plot! xx

  6. Mo says:

    How lovely and tidy it all looks 🙂
    Robins are noted for scrapping aren’t they? Quite territorial? I always wonder how/if ours are related because we’ve seen no fighting. It’s the sparrows who are always squabbling here.

  7. Funny how the weather makes you get busy!

    I have planted my potatoes today & have also used up my sprout tops.

    http://greenfingersmum.blogspot.com

  8. Hi Flighty, when will you plant your dahlias? I’m also giving them a go this year, not sure when it’s safe to plant them out!

    • Flighty says:

      Karen I’ll probably plant mine in a couple weeks providing it hasn’t turned cold! I reckon that you should follow a week or two later. I’ll mention planting them so as you know. xx

  9. Mrs Bok says:

    Such a lovely space to plant out! Love the bird shots too. Whenever I see robins I’m reminded of the book The Secret Garden. I envy you your daffodils!

  10. Louise says:

    Aah, beautiful robin. I saw and heard ours singing away the other day. x

  11. Thanks Flighty, I am slightly concerned because one of the tubers has started sprouting – at least 5 inches!. Should I leave them in the dark or pop them in pots? I have no idea what I’m doing with them to be honest!

  12. Exactly what I thought Flighty, thanks for the link I will check it out xx

Leave a Reply

