This year’s daffodils

This is the second part of my occasional sort of plot A to Z post about the letter D, the first being Digging, dandelions and dahlias… which I did a month ago.

Daffodils are surely one of the most popular, and widely recognised, of all flowers.

I have plenty of them on the plot some of which can be seen here

I like the mini daffodils which I have growing by the stone featurealong with another variety in the long planter

Last year I had some really lovely looking doubles, and white ones,  as you can see in this post The plot daffodils… They should all be flowering again over the next few weeks.  Meantime let’s all enjoy these

Glo (Porcelain Rose) very kindly awarded me her DaffyDownDillyDaisy Award following my first D post but I waited for this one to show it and thank her.

Earlier posts in this series can be found on this page Plot A to Z or via the link under the header picture.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to This year’s daffodils

  1. Jo says:

    I love daffodils and there’s so many varieties that there’s something to suit everyone’s taste. I’ve been buying them in recently to have in vases in the house so I intend to plant a batch at the allotment for cut flowers.

  2. Mo says:

    A veritable ‘host’ 🙂
    They do look so very cheerful. I’m always sad when I see battered daffs, more so than any other flower I think.
    The forecast is good for us this weekend – hope the sun shines on you too!

  3. I love daffs, always guaranteed to make you smile. Must plant some up at our plot this Autumn. Have a good weekend gardening!

  4. Jenny Aspin says:

    Yours are well ahead of ours, Flighty and I love the robin!

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny they’ve only flowered properly in the last week. The robin was waiting on top on the site gates this morning, perhaps I was a bit later than usual! xx

  5. Ellie says:

    Daffodils are such a welcome sight – the first real sign of colour after the dullness of winter. Like you, I prefer either the minature ones, or the double ones.

    Just caught up with your last posts – it sounds like you’re well prepared. I’ve been trying to catch up with the gardening but suddenly, there aren’t enough hours in the day. Hope the sun is still shining for you.
    x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie they really do herald that spring is here don’t they! The mini ones don’t succumb to the rain and wind, and the doubles are just a bit different.
      I’ve really done all I’ve wanted to do this week and last. It sure gets busy at this time of year so we all have that problem. Thanks! xx

  6. Anna says:

    My absolute favourite flower…that sunshine colour always make me smile. Beautiful Flighty!! 🙂

  7. Debbie says:

    Ah a sight to make us smile. Is that Jetfire in the planter? I have Tete a Tete so that the wind doesn’t knock them over but love the taller varietys which can be picked for indoors. Hello to Robin. x

    • Flighty says:

      Debbie it does indeed! I’m not sure but will let you know if I can find my notes.
      That’s one reason that I like the mini ones. I actually got a photo of Mrs Robin on Thursday, which I’ll show in my next post. xx

  8. A great looking array, Flighty. I put some new varities in this year. Too late for this season, so I must wait! I do love flowers that do what they do, and do it well, without any real intervention from me! I have them under my apple and cherry trees, and it’s fab seeing them coming up every year, mingled in over the weeks with snowdrops, crocus and tulips. And then they disappear, to gird their loins to do it all again in 12 months time. Very glad they do 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Stephen thanks! I’m sure that they’ll put on a good show for you next year.
      It sounds like you have plenty to look at and enjoy every year around this time.

  9. Doris says:

    Daffodils and robins – what a great combination! Thanks for a very uplifting post.

  10. Glo says:

    What a lovely cheerful post! How sweet that the robin is sharing the limelight with the daffodils. Thanks for the mention and link to the “D” award which is coincidental, because you mentioned 500 posts and ‘D’ is the Roman Numeral for 500! I know…only I would even think of such a connection. 😉 I think it’s wonderful that you have done what needed done on Plot 124 for the time being 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks! That’s interesting about D being 500, and good timing on our part.
      I was glad to have done everything by Thursday as it rained for much of yesterday! xx

  11. Morning Flighty. 🙂
    Daffs are wonderful! I’m disappointed with my miniature ones though…. they don’t look anywhere near as good as yours.
    Congratulations on your award!
    Hope you have a great weekends gardening… or sofa flying… whichever takes your fancy 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Simon hello! I’m sorry to see that about your mini ones, perhaps next year…
      Thanks, it’s always nice to get them!
      I’ll be doing a bit of both probably, as I’m sure most of us will be! Cheers.

  12. Daffs are one of my fav flowers, nothing says Spring to me like daffs do. Have them everywhere, in my garden, potager and inside my home. Glad to see that your allotment is covered in them too.

    Have a great weekend! xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda yes their one of mine as well, and they really are ‘the’ spring flower aren’t they. Other allotmenteers grow them in profusion as well.
      Thanks, you too! xxx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Your daffs are wonderfully sited, Flighty. Like they are naturalizing and blooming to happily announce spring. I think I will look into growing some mini daffs next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki there are now ten small groups of them, which I prefer to one large area.
      Mini daffodils do well in containers, and there are plenty of varieties. xx

Leave a Reply

