I’m having a day off…

from plotting today having spent the past six days doing so, besides which I don’t usually work on the plot on Sundays.  As usual I’ll be at the horticultural society trading shed this morning then home for lunch, after which I shall relax and read for a while.

Following on from Thursday’s post I’ve done lots more digging and weeding, and the vegetable areas are now all but ready for planting and sowing.

The flower bed is a different story as grass has encroached over much of it so that’s where I’ll be plotting next week.

The male plot robin was ever present, and even closer,  on Friday and Saturday when I took yet more photos some of which are now on a seperate Plot robin page, and one is the new header picture.  The female one is much more petit, far less bold and tends to just come and go.  Their presence on the plot is so welcome and such a delight.

I started this blog Flighty’s Plot at the end of May 2007 and this is the 500th post since then. For me plotting and blogging about it have both been enjoyable.  What really counts though are all my friends here, and numerous visitors, who read and often comment as you do.  Thank you…Flighty.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I’m having a day off…

  1. Jennyta says:

    Well, it sounds as if you have more than earned your day off, Flighty. Sit back and enjoy. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny it’s been raining here so I couuldn’t have done any plotting even if I wanted to! Thanks I will, some reading then TV with a cup of tea and a few biscuits. xx

  2. VP says:

    I don’t blame you Flighty, you’ve been working hard this week.

    Congratulations on your 500th post 🙂

    And many thanks for my birthday wishes over at UK Veg Gardeners – a lovely surprise 😀

    • Flighty says:

      VP It’s all been most worthwhile! Thanks, I’m slightly amazed looking back.
      You’re most welcome, I hope that you had an enjoyable day! xx

  3. Jo says:

    I’m looking forward to following your plot throughout the year. Last year was a bit hit and miss for us (complete novices) so our plans are less ambitious – but will have to wait for the snow to go first!!

  4. Jacquie says:

    Ha, we meet again… twice in a week… what are the odds? I’m not stalking you, I promise!

  5. Jo says:

    Congratulations on your 500th post, here’s to many more to come. I think you’ve earned your day off today after all the work you’ve put in this week. It doesn’t take long for the grass to cover the planting areas again but I’m sure you’ll have it ship shape again in no time.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo many thanks! I think so too.
      Thankfully it’s not proving that difficult to remove, and I did more than planned yesterday which was useful! xx

  6. Debbie says:

    A delightful blog so here’s to the next 500, Flighty.

  7. Glo says:

    Congratulations on your 500th post ~ and a fitting way to celebrate having a day off plotting. I hope you had an enjoyable time at the horticultural shed. Everyone will be getting back into the swing of things now that Spring has decided to show itself and your sweet robins look like great companions. I think you’re ahead of the game with all the allotment preparation. Super!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! Sunday mornings at the shed are always enjoyable. Yes there’s certainly been more people on the allotments the past week or so. The robins are wonderful company!
      I think that you’re right. Super indeed! xx

  8. Mo says:

    Congratulations! On your 500th post and earning yourself a day off – the plot is looking good and I love the Robin page.
    We spent a Sunday morning working in the rain. Of course, whilst we watched rugby in the afternoon the sun shone magnificently! 🙂 Mo

  9. Congratulations on your 500th post Flighty!! 🙂
    No wonder it’s taking me so long to go through your back catalogue of posts…. i’m only at 146 now… 354 to go.
    The plot’s looking good buddy… you deserve a day off! 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Simon thanks! I keep meaning to read through them all again but guess it’ll have to wait until next winter now. Anyway I hope that you’re enjoying them.
      I had another day off today but will be there the next few days by which time it’ll all be ready for planting and sowing. Cheers!

  10. Flighty, as you know I’m a new reader to your blog and i’ve got to say it’s very enjoyable. I’m looking forward to seeing how your plot looks throughout the year, right now your veg plot looks great – you can see how much hard work has gone into it recently. Congrats on your 500th blog post too! xx

  11. NiC says:

    Happy 500th, may there be many more.

    You don’t look a post over 499. 😉

  12. Damo says:

    Happy 500 Flighty!

  13. Dirt Faerie says:

    Sounds like you earned your day off Flighty. Hope your back wasn’t too sore! Happy 500!

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Congrats on your 500th post! Amazing how time flies 🙂 Lovely updates on your plotting projects. I know what you mean about encroaching grass and weeds. My mom said that when she retired, I would get a weed-free garden. Enjoy the fruits of your labor: a well tended and ready plot!

Leave a Reply

