Three mornings plotting…

is all very well but not if you’ve spent much of the past three months armchair gardening! I’ve ached and been tired but boy have I been happy!

I spent Monday emptying out the compost heap with, as you can see, my two delightful little friends keeping me company.

On Tuesday morningΒ  I was there early as I had to be home by mid-morning.Β  It was really frosty first thing as you can see by these poor crocus!

I forked and weeded the area where the onions will be planted.

I then raked the compost over the potato patch. When I’d finished I was standing on the path wondering where the robin was when it started singing right behind me on plot neighbour George’s compost heap!

Yesterday I transplanted 20 raspberries, which are now in three rows, and will be much more accessible than previously. Behind them, between the daffodils and the dustbin, are the comfrey plants which are just starting to grow again.

I then moved 14 strawberries to where the raspberries had been.

Throughout all three mornings both robins have keep me company,often like this at little more than arm’s length away.

The weather looks like staying dry so I’ll there again the next few days but thankfully only doing some less strenuous plotting.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Three mornings plotting…

  1. Jo says:

    It’s good to be able to put some work in again, though there’ll be nothing done here again for a while, rain and high winds are back. Glad you managed to get the raspberries and strawberries sorted out.

  2. Paul says:

    It’s fantastic now the weather is improving and its possible to actually get on the plot and not end up knee deep in mud. I’ve been spending all this week at work dreaming of the weekend and the things I need to do…. πŸ™‚

  3. Jenny Aspin says:

    It looks as though things are further ahead in your neck of the woods, Flighty. Here we are still in a primeval sea of mud. πŸ˜‰

  4. VP says:

    Hooray – plotting at last! Hopefully I’ll be up at mine at the weekend
    x

  5. Maureen says:

    I thought about you when the weather finally changed and the sun appeared at last. I’m so pleased that you have finally been able to work on your plot. You’ve certainly managed to accomplish a lot in a short space of time. Well done! I’m very impressed.

  6. Doris says:

    I’m glad to see things are looking very spring-like. Here in Montreal we’re having snow storms followed by pouring rain. What a sloshy, slushy walk home it was for me today!

  7. Glo says:

    I can tell you feel a great sense of accomplishment after spending three mornings doing the heavy work that you wanted done! Looks like you have a great start to the season and all is looking well. I see the daffodils are nearly there! Much of those three months armchair gardening was spent in great anticipation of the planting season and here it (nearly) is!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’m so pleased with all I’m done this week, and that’s now five mornings! It’s certainly looking better as you’ll see on Sunday’s post. The mini daffodils are out and the others will be next week I reckon.
      That’s true and was well worth the rather long wait! xx

  8. Mo says:

    Yes! You got the raspberries and strawberries sorted, hurrah! I’ll bet the Robins were glad of the company πŸ™‚
    I tied my raspberry canes in yesterday morning. It was very windy so then I went to work in the Polytunnel. The drop down workbench was moving as the wind buffeted at the tunnel and it felt very much like being in turbulance on a plane. The more I thought about it, with the beds either side and the sloping roof, the more it felt like I was on a plane – all very odd πŸ˜‰

    • Flighty says:

      Mo moving them was a good mornings work which thankfully went without a hitch! They’re all showing signs of new growth so I just hope they’ll be okay.
      Yes it was windy here as well. That does sound rather odd! xx

  9. Carrie says:

    you are an inspiration my darling flighty!!! We really haven’t started yet – your plot puts me to shame it is just perfect if I could I would give you a wee award for tidyness and friendly robins and stuff.
    Love you xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Carrie thanks for your kind words! I was lucky that I had the time to do what I did this week. It’s not all tidy yet as you’ll see in the next post! Hugs! xx

  11. I bet that felt good to get some work done on the plot – apart from aching but you know what I mean! I have to plant my new summer fruiting and autumn raspberries out, hopefully this weekend.

  12. Flighty says:

    Karen it did indeed. I do take it steady, have an occasional breather and don’t overdo it so I don’t generally suffer! I hope you get your raspberries planted out. xx

  13. That’s good to hear Flighty xx

  14. Impressive! We’ve had visitors this weekend, but tomorrow its on with the digging.

Leave a Reply

