Just maybe…

this week I’ll be able to do some work on the plot as last week was mostly too cold and windy, and the ground still too wet.

I looked round earlier today and I still hope to move the raspberries and strawberries. If I don’t then I’ll leave it until next year. I’ve borrowed plot neighbour Trevor’s shovel which will make it easier to empty the compost heap.Β  It was good to see him in the trading shed this morning and have a chat, as I’ve not seen him for over a month.

The rhubarb, looking very red,Β  is now showing properly.

The sheltered mini daffodils are just about to open.

There’s the odd crocus to be seen including this lovely white one.

It’s good to see new growth on the perennials including the hydrangea.

The hyacinths in the square planter are doing well.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Just maybe…

  1. deyank says:

    My goodness! All those wonderful blooms. My Jonquils have just begun to appear but are now ringed with a half-inch of snow that fell last night. I am so ready for spring.

    Bill

  2. Jenny Aspin says:

    The ground here is really soggy and nothing much is showing signs of life at all.

  3. Glo says:

    Spring is sproinging on your allotment, Flighty! Look at those lovely colours ~ I also found my crocuses much happier today thanks to the brighter days. I hope your weather is sunnier in order to dry out the soil so you can dig in!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure is! It’s been a beautiful day today so I was on the plot early and spent the morning emptying the compost heap. Both robins were around but I didn’t get any good photos of them. xx

  4. Mo says:

    The white crocus is beautiful…and your daffs!
    It was cold & wet up here too, but looking a tad more hopeful for this week.

  5. Jo says:

    Hubby managed to get to the plot yesterday and do a bit of digging, the first that’s been done for ages. It’s lovely to see the perennials springing back to life with new growth.

  6. Lynda says:

    Love the flowers – love the rhubarb even more – yummy ;0)

  7. Do you know which variety of rhubarb is on your plot Flighty? It is indeed very red and striking. I grow Timperley Early and it will be ready for pulling in a couple of weeks time. Yummy!

    It was glorious here today, I saw the first bee of the year! Happy gardening Flighty x

  8. Flighty says:

    Karen unfortunately not as my plot neighbour Joe gave it to me, and it was already growing on his plot when he took it on. My other plot neighbour Brian has some that is almost ready to pick as well!
    It was lovely here as well so I spent the morning on the plot emptying the compost heap, with the robins for company.
    Yet another plot neighbour, John, has several hives so I’ve been seeing honey bees for several weeks. I saw my first bumble bee yesterday.
    Thanks, you too! xx

  9. I do love the Robin, always happy to help out when soil is being turned over! Mind you, my chickens normally beat them to the worms!

    I don’t know where the bees have been hiding around here, it was a joy to see one today x

    • Flighty says:

      The robins were actually waiting for me this morning, instead of appearing after I get there!
      Seeing bees means that there’s now pollen for them, and that it’s getting warmer. xx

  10. Paul says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the dafffs appear on our plot, only planted them last autumn and there was no sign last time I was there (an embarrassing 3 weeks ago) but fingers crossed this weekend we’ll get up there and see some life in them. πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Paul hello, it’s good to see you over on UK Veg Growers!
      I think that you’ll be pleasantly surprised with your daffodils when you next see them.

  11. daffy says:

    Your photographs are lovely! I’ve got myself some nice mini daffs poking out, my crocus are out, no snowdrops this year as the cherry tree has gone but lots of unidentified spring blooms too! I’ll be glad to see the back of the gloom…. bring on the Spring sunshine and the odd shower! xx

Leave a Reply

