Living Paintings

I was a longtime donator to, and supporter of, the National Library for the Blind until it merged with the RNIB at the end of 2006.  Sadly I then felt unable to continue for reasons that I won’t go into here.

Since then I have been looking for another good cause involving blindness and books.  Last week I read a Kate Humble tweet that mentioned Living Paintings, a charity that I’d never heard of before.  I looked at the website, and the accounts/report on the Charity Commission site, and was impressed with what I read.

I was delighted to read on the homepage that titles include British Wildlife and English Gardens, and that the latest living picture book is The Strong Little Tree, which seems perfect for The Tree Year, in which I’m participating (see previous post).

I’m going to sponsor a library member by making a small regular monthly donation and also give support by showing the logo as a link over on the right here.

Donating, and giving support, to charity is a very personal matter but I do feel that whichever one(s) we chose we can help by mentioning and linking to them on our blogs, and if they’re on them also liking on Facebook and following on Twitter as I’ve done with Living Paintings.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Living Paintings

  1. Glo says:

    What a wonderful charity, and how thoughtful of you to choose to support it, and link it on your blog etc.

    I have chosen not to join facebook or twitter, so this is the only way I communicate online other than email. You seem to be keeping up with all the current ways, though! I’d never make it out of the door if I did any more online 😉 How’s your rhubarb? (chuckle)

    • Flighty says:

      Glo the more I look at it the more I like it! It’s dear to my heart in so many ways which is why I’ve chosen it as a good cause.
      I don’t really blame you! I still prefer blogging to either of them, both of which have good, and not so good, points. As I start to spend more time plotting I’ll be spending less time online that’s for sure!
      Ha, I don’t know as I’ve not been there for a week! It’s cold, dull and windy today so it’ll probably be the weekend before I see how it’s doing. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I’d never heard of Living Paintings before either, but having followed your link, it looks like a very good cause.

  3. Just had a look at Living Paintings. Not heard of the charity before…what a great service they provide. M

  4. Doris says:

    I clicked on the link and, like you, I am quite impressed by Living Paintings. It is very nice that you are contributing to this charity and helping to let others know about it.

  5. Pingback: The smell of roses | Sofa flying

  6. Mo says:

    What a remarkable Charity! Thank you for bringing it to light.

  7. mrs K says:

    Enjoyed the links – but whooped with joy when they previewed the return of Gardener’s World and Monty’s back. I can now get my Friday fix, I gave up with the last presenter.

    Iris, snowdrops, jasmine, sweet charity, crocuses and pansies – all out – wonderful thing, three days of sunshine. Yippee.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K let’s hope that the new series is worth watching!
      It’s so nice to see them at this time of year, especially in the sunshine, which has been noticably absent here lately. xx

  8. Maureen says:

    That looks like a wonderful charity, Flighty. Well done you, for choosing to support their cause and linking to it on your blog!

Leave a Reply

