The plot trees – February 2011

You’ll notice the change of title compared to The plot hawthorn in January as I’ve decided to watch a second plot tree as well.

The hawthorn looks much like it did last month although there are clear signs of impending new growth.Β  Click on the thumbnail and you’ll see there are some daffodils near by, and the red blobs at the top of the photo is the rhubarb.

The second one is, so I’m told, a plum tree that appeared last spring growing up through the pallet patio!Thankfully it’s near the edge, andΒ  in a relatively good position. The old broom handle is to hopefully stop me from damaging it. It’s about knee height at the moment but I’m told that it’ll grow fairly quickly so I’ll be interested to see how it progresses over the coming months.

As I mentioned in my original Tree Year post The plot hawthorn there is also a foot high oak tree growing next to the dustbin lid pond. I may well mention that once it grows some new leaves and I tidy up a bit around it.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The plot trees – February 2011

  1. Jo says:

    So you might end up with some plums, that’s a great freebie. Your rhubarb looks to be budding up nicely, time for crumble soon.

  2. Doris says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the progress these trees make.

  3. Glo says:

    It’s plum stuck in a pallet! It’s amazing what crops up where, isn’t it? Good idea to keep an eye on your Oakley ~ I’ll have to check mine out, too. Your daffodils are coming along nicely, as is your red knob rhubarb. Now for some sunshine for all of us, eh?

    • Mo says:

      I’m steering well clear of any rhubarb comments πŸ˜‰

      So, who ate a plum and dropped the stone through the pallet patio hmm?

      • Flighty says:

        Mo I’m trying very hard to keep a straight face!
        Not me as I don’t eat them, but there are some other plum trees on other plots so it’s not that surprising. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure is, and yes there’ve been a few, mostly welcome, surprises like this.
      I felt that I couldn’t leave little Oakley out of the limelight! The daffodils should be in flower soon, the rhubarb will take a while longer. Yes please! xx

Leave a Reply

