Blogs, a forum and TV

I’ve started a new page Plot A to Z here to keep track of my occasional series of posts a sort of plot A to Z, which you can reach via the link under the header photo.

There are a couple of new lawn loungers with Karen @ The Garden Smallholder and Simon’s Lost gardens of Broadwelligan….. Both are fellow members, and friends, over on UK Veg Gardeners which has now been going 6 months and has over 500 members. It’s proving to be an enjoyable forum to be part of.

Last night I watched the BBC’s The Richard Dimbleby Lecture which was given by novelist Michael Morpurgo, who has long been a campaigner of children’s rights in the UK and abroad. It was a compelling and impassioned speech which you can catch up with here.

Next week I will not be watching Natural World on Tuesday at 9.00pm.Ā  Why not you may well ask…the clue is in the title One Million Snake Bites!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Blogs, a forum and TV

  1. Morning Flighty,
    Thankyou for the mention here šŸ™‚ I shall have to reciprocate the honour very soon!
    I didn’t see Richard dimbleby… i did see some of a program on voting reform while writing this weekends list of gardening jobs though… but i fell asleep before i finished either!
    Keep up the excellent blog buddy!
    Simon.

    • Flighty says:

      Simon hello! You’re welcome, and you’re also on the sofa flyers list over on the Sofa flying blog as you’ve commented there.
      I was ‘under orders’ from a friend to watch the lecture. I’m glad I did and that I didn’t fall asleep whilst doing so.
      I’ll do my best to! Cheers.

  2. Jo says:

    It’s nice to see that UK Veg Gardeners is doing so well, I see the number of members rise from day to day. What did you think of Carol Klein’s series? I was sad to see it end last week and I shall miss watching it on a Friday, I really enjoyed it.

  3. Thank you for the mention Flighty!! Glad to be considered a friend and to have met you through UK Veg Gardeners, I really enjoy the site and find it very useful xx

  4. Mo says:

    You’re scared of snakes?! When I was a kiddywink we had grass snakes in the garden, since then I’ve met Mamba’s and Cobra’s, not in this garden though šŸ˜‰ I have a fascination of/with (?) them and feel oddly drawn to them.

    I like the new page and also wanted to say well done for your involvement with the UKVG forum.

  5. Glo says:

    Good to know that the UK gardening site is blooming šŸ™‚ Makes sense ~ plant seeds of interest, add nurture and care, and buds will turn to blossoming flowers and vegetables. Unfortunately, the BBC videos are not accessible over here, although I did find an article about it. Nice to have your alphabet posts on one page. It’s always helpful to know the focus of upcoming programs to determine if they are to be watched or avoided.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that’s a great way of looking at the forum.
      It’s so annoying that the BBC iPlayer is only available here!
      I did the A to Z page for easy reference, and it’s good to see all your awards like that as well.
      It’s rare that I don’t want to watch a wildlife programme but this is a definate no-no! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Eww, I don’t blame you. My mom is so deathly afraid of snakes, she once called me from another room in the house to pick up a belt she’d dropped on the floor. It resembled a snake so much that she couldn’t pick it up.

  7. menhir says:

    Hello Mr F.

    An elderly neighbour, who died many years ago, who had the same surname as MM, told me young MM was his nephew. The two branches of the family didn’t get on so, there was no contact. What I did learn was some fascinating family history from my neighbour and I got some good and reassuring gardening tips from him too!

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir how wonderful! xx

      • menhir says:

        It was certainly interesting. The gardening tips came at an unexpected time, when someone, to my chagrin, had given a ‘short back and sides’ to my very well-flowering and bushy Weigela, which was situated in the back garden. The neighbour and I often chatted over the fence. šŸ™‚
        xx

Leave a Reply

