Digging, dandelions and dahlias…

takes us on to the letter D in my occasional series of posts a sort of plot A to Z.

Most gardeners spend much of the time digging as this is one of the fundamentals of cultivation.  At one time double digging was popular but nowadays it’s far more likely to be the no dig method.

There’s no denying that dandelions have pretty flowers and seed heads but they really are a troublesome weed. The thick-leaved dandelion is a culivated edible strain.

I don’t grow dahlias but they are probably the most widely seen flowers on allotments, with many being grown to exhibit at horticultural society shows. They come in a wide range of varieties and colours of which I prefer the smaller pompom dahlias in pastel shades to the big bright cactus types.

The previous post in this series was Continuing with C…, which also has links to the earlier ones.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Digging, dandelions and dahlias…

  1. Jo says:

    I have trouble with dandelions on my allotment, I get absolutely loads of them, and once they take old they’re a devil to dig out without some of the root breaking off. I grew a few dahlias at the allotment last year from seed. I’m hoping to grow some more this year.

  2. Hi, dandelions are the bane of my life as they grow on some land behind our house and all the seeds blow straight into our garden.
    Hoping to do some digging of the veg plot today…bit wet at the moment, but the weather forecast says should dry up later. I feel way behind as my gardening friend keeps telling me all that he’s done, chitting his potatoes etc.

    • Flighty says:

      M&N they’re the bane of all gardeners I guess!
      I hope that you did some digging. It’s sunny here today but after more rain yesterday the plot will be far too wet to do anything.
      I’m sure that you’ll catch up as it’s early days yet and lots of folks haven’t done much, if anything, yet! xx

  3. Damo says:

    I have an aversion to digging so have just spread some well rotted manure around and will let the worms do all the work. However I do love Dahlias, from the small and subtle pompoms to the big and brash dinnerplate sized flowers, can’t wait to get them up and running.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo I don’t blame you, and that’s sounds like an excellent idea to me!
      Although I’m not that keen I do see the appeal of dahlias. You grew some beauties last year and I look forward to seeing this years.

  4. Glo says:

    A decidedly deserving award for you, no decadent desserts to dig into, though, but I have added double delightful daffodils and daisies.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks that’s a darn lovely award! I was going to wait for the first daffodils to flower before doing this post but when they do I’ll do another one on D, and include this delightful award! xx

  5. Mo says:

    We have loads of dandelions. Luckily chickens and pigs like them 🙂 I have a small collection of ‘things to make’ with dandelions but have never taken the plunge – do we really want to see what dandelion ‘coffee’ tastes like? Nah, let the chickens have them 🙂

  6. Louise says:

    I hate digging, and I hate dandelions, but I love dahlias! x

  7. I’m going to have a go at growing Dahlias for the first time, from tubers. I have bought the peony-flower type to attract bees 🙂 Fingers crossed!

  8. I’m trying Dahlias this year aswell, for exactly the reason you mentioned Flighty “the local show” 🙂
    As for digging… my shoulders are aching this week after making some serious headway on digging the veg garden over the last two weekends…. maybe i should have gone for “no dig” instead! 🙂
    The Dandelions are a nuisance in my garden, just the same as everyone elses…. to cure that problem i am just going to borrow Mo’s pigs i think. Mo??? 🙂
    I love your posts Flighty!

    • Flighty says:

      Simon good for you! I steward at our horticultural society show and last year followed the flower judges round when it was interesting to hear what they were saying about the exhibits.
      I’ll be digging again as soon as the ground dries out a bit but hopefully it won’t be that arduous as I did dig it all over in the autumn.
      Dandelions really are a nuisance aren’t they. Good idea about the pigs but are not really an option on the plot!
      Thanks, that’s kind of you to say so and I ‘m glad that you enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

