Days like yesterday…

which was almost springlike are most welcome at this time of year, especially as it’s been dull and windy recently.

For the first time this year I spent all morning working on the plot, making a start on the long list of things that I’ll be doing over the coming weeks.

I’d only been there a few minutes when the robins arrived to say hello, they then constantly came and went. I think that they were checking to see if I was going to empty the compost bin, which I didn’t, and it really was so pleasing to see them both!

The first thing I did was to lift the few leeks which I’d grown on from plants that plot neighbour Brian  kindly gave me. Size wise the biggest one is about an inch diameter and four inches long. This year I’m having a go at growing my own from seed with the variety Ardea Organically sourced.

Last year I moved my Jerusalem artichokes from the bottom south-east corner to the opposite end. Inevitiably I missed some so I dug these up to replant with the others.

The area I’m moving the raspberries to was lightly forked over, and I then did some general tidying up filling an empty compost bag.

I was lucky to see the yellow crocus opening in the sunshine as I’m sure that next time I look they’ll have been eaten by the sparrows! Thankfully they don’t touch the purple or white ones.

The film Broken Arrow (1950), starring my favourite actor James Stewart, is being shown on Channel 4 at 12.20 pm today. It’s a miserably wet day out so I’ll be settling down to an early lunch whilst watching this classic Western.

Have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

24 thoughts on “Days like yesterday…”

  1. It’s great that you finally got some time to spend on the lottie, and with Robins for company. The leeks are looking good, were they tasty?

    BTW this post hasn’t come through on my feed yet, I picked you up (so to speak) from Glo’s Blog.

    Like

    1. Mo it sure was, and I would have been there today if it hadn’t been raining all day. Yes I ate a couple of the leeks yesterday which were good.
      That happens to me all the time! xx

      Like

  2. Those leeks looks very tasty. I do enjoy leeks but not the smell they produce when they’re being cooked. How funny that the sparrows only eat the yellow crocus, I wonder why that is. My dad’s a fan of westerns too, I’d like to bet that his TV will be turned on at 12.20 today. Hope you enjoy it.

    Like

    1. Jo these didn’t smell when I cooked them, or more likely my poor sense of smell didn’t detect them!
      I don’t about about the sparrows but will try to find out.
      I enjoyed the film. My dad, and granddad, both liked watching and reading Westerns. xx

      Like

  3. Leeks in a big frying pan, with a little bit of water, streaky bacon over the top of the leeks, lid on, steamed to perfection, drained, two slices of toast with leeks and bacon on top then smothered in hot cheese sauce. Yes that is what we had tonight.

    Oh and it helps if you do not like the smell of them to just steam them. Mind I steam all my veggies and use the water they are cooked in as well.

    Not only sparrows – all birds eat the yellow ones, they are after the saffron. No yellows either have very little or none inside.

    Flighty them Robins just love you and you deserve it.

    Like

    1. Mrs K that sounds delicious so I shall give it a try tomorrow!
      Thanks for the information on the birds. That’s why I grow nearly all purple white ones as I was told that the birds eat the yellow ones.
      I would really miss them if they didn’t appear that’s for sure! xx

      Like

  4. Sounds like just the day you’ve been waiting for, and a good start to your plotting plan. Always pleasant to see Spring popping up 🙂 Hope you enjoyed the movie …

    Like

  5. Well you’re lucky – the weather was foul here! Just when I thought things were drying out enough to do a bit of gardening, everything got sodden again. It’s been a very long, hard winter, this one.

    Like

    1. Ellie lucky indeed, but it rained all day yesterday and much of today! I’m hoping to do some more plotting over the next few days if it’s not got too soggy, and of course weather permitting. It sure has! xx

      Like

  6. It sounds like you had a good day in your allotment, Flighty!

    It’s interesting to find out (thanks to Mrs K) the reason why the sparrows like to eat the yellow crocus but not the purple or white ones. I was puzzling over that.

    Like

    1. Maureen hello, yes it was a good start to the year. I was also there today but the ground was rather soggy so I was pottering rather than plotting!
      I think that was something I’d forgotten so as you say thanks to Mrs K for telling us. xx

      Like

  7. I also love the warm spring-like days, it’s amazing how much is achieved with the sun shining! I shall be growing leeks from seed this year too, last year I bought them as small seedlings.

    Like

    1. Karen I really enjoy working on the plot on days like that, and the sunshine makes such a difference.
      It’ll be interseting to see how we get on with the leeks! xx

      Like

  8. Oh Flighty, I just have to tell someone who loves gardening. Today the young laddie who comes and helps me with my garden (I managed to get him into a horticultural college) has decided that – yes we will get an allotment. There are about three vacant in the village. We are going halves – so all those lovely things I used to grow – will be grown again and what a lovely surprise for 2011. Things could not be better.

    Yippee from an ancient Brit.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.