Counting bean seeds!

I’ll be eating the last of my stored onions and potatoes soon and will then have to buy them for several months, which comes as a bit of a blow! I’ve done well as last year I’d finished them all by the New Year.

I have bought onion sets Sturon and Turbo again and hope to do as well with them as I have in previous years. I shall be planting them out, weather permitting, during March and April.

I’ve settled on four varieties of potatoes for this year with first earlies Vales Emerald which I’ve not grown before, second earlies Charlotte and Kestrel, and maincrop Desiree. They’re all chitting in the spare room and will be planted out late March and April.

It’s been another week when I’ve only had a quick look round the plot a couple of times but fingers crossed this coming week I’ll be able to do some plotting instead of counting bean seeds!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Counting bean seeds!

  1. Jenny Aspin says:

    If your weather has been anything like ours, Flighty, you will have been happy to be indoors! πŸ˜‰

  2. Damo says:

    Looking a bit miserable here this morning but hopefully you will be able to get down to the plot.

  3. Glo says:

    Just sorting beans and counting them,
    I wish that it was β€˜funner’ …
    Perhaps I’ll mix them up again
    and then I’ll do a runner πŸ˜‰

    At least now you can say, β€œBean there, done that!”

    Kidding aside, preparation, plotting and planning is all part and parcel, so you’ll be ready when the ground is!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that verse makes me smile, and ‘Bean there, done that’ has to be a future post title!
      Lots of p’s there but a long way off in my A to Z series. Although I’m in no rush I’d like to ease my way back steadily into the plotting! xx

  4. Darren says:

    You have managed to store them well to last that long
    Good post

    • Flighty says:

      Darren I check everything I lift carefully, make sure it’s all properly dry and then look it over every few weeks whilst in store. It’s worth doing as I lose virtually nothing. Thanks!

  5. Jo says:

    My onions and shallots went in really late last year but they still managed to produce enough to see me through until a few weeks ago. I haven’t bought my onion sets yet, but my shallots have been planted in pots to give them a head start. I’ve never grown Vales Emerald before but I’ve heard good reports about them. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of them.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it just goes to show that there’s generally no need to rush as there’s plenty of time.
      Like you I’ve heard good reports for Vales Emerald and I’m looking forward to seeing what they’re like. xx

  6. Mark Willis says:

    Flighty, if you had home-grown potatoes and onions throughout the year you would start to take them for granted! Part of the attraction of gardening for me is the anticipation of harvesting something you have been looking forward to for months. Can’t wait for my PSB to be ready – it’s nearly 10 months since I sowed it!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    I was at the L.A. Arboretum this weekend and they had a rose sale — made me think of the shows you’ve participated in with fruits, vegetables, and flowers. And here you are, showing the last of your crop. March is coming before you know it. The weather will warm and you’ll be out on your plot with the birds πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sounds like you had a good weekend. I think that it’s the lack of sunny days recently that has made me feel like this!
      I know it is, and I sure hope so. xx

  8. Mo says:

    I’m a Bean Counter – I just prefer counting different types of beans these days πŸ™‚
    We have Sturon this year, a change from Golden Ball.
    Liking your spud collection and keen to hear about Vales Emerald.
    February can be a cruddy month but can also throw up days that entice you to start too early – more haste, less speed πŸ˜‰ If there was ever a month for Sofa Flying it must be Feb?

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I’ve always found Sturon to be an excellent onion. Thanks, the Vales Emerald looks to be the one to watch this year!
      Cruddy indeed, it’s yet another dull windy day here! I’m never speedy, and I’m really quite happy to wait a while longer.
      You’re so right, and it looks like I’ll be doing plenty more! xx

  9. I’ve just finished my stored onions too Flighty. I have a few shallots left, but i still have a load of spuds!!!! I grew too many i think… and am all set to do the same this year:)

    I hope you get on the plot soon!!

    • Flighty says:

      Simon it’s that time of year isn’t it! It’s easily done, especially if you like potatoes and want to try different varieties.
      thanks, I hope so to!

  10. mrs K says:

    Old saying, don’t plant potatoes till Good Friday

    Have you looked at the calendar for 2011!!!!!!!!

  11. Ellie says:

    If you’re only just running out, then you had a very good yield – our potatoes were finished long before Christmas. (I was quite relieved as they were marble-sized and a real pain to peel!)

    I learned the hard way last year that seeds grow when Nature tells them, not people. I got a little carried away by the novelty of having a greenhouse for the first time, but I sowed too early and most failed!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I’m well pleased that they lasted this long!
      Some people want to control nature instead of working with it. I’m sure that you’ll be much more successful this year! xx

Leave a Reply

