How about that!

A few weeks ago Glo (Porcelain Rose) emailed asking if I had received the small package that she’d sent me for Christmas. I replied that I hadn’t and we both thought that it had gone astray as she had sent it by airmail on 6th December from Vancouver, Canada.

However when I got home on Friday lunch-time I was surprised, and delighted, to find that it was on the doormat. Inside was a handmade Christmas card, a Rogers’ Chocolates Dark Chocolate Mystere Bar and a lovely soft, warm scarf in what Glo calls robin colours, namely brown and red.

I was so pleased that this generous and thoughtful gift had finally arrived!

I did the Big Garden Birdwatch yesterday morning but as the total didn’t even reach double figures, or include the blackbirds, I decided to do it again this morning.

For forty minutes or so I saw the usual wood pigeons, magpies, blackbirds, robin and blue tits then a bird perched up in one of the lilac trees caught my eye.  For a couple of minutes I was looking at a robin sized bird that I’d never seen before.  Its black cap, ash-grey undersides and browny grey back identified it as a male blackcap. How about that!

It’s bright but cold here today so I just had a quick look round the plot on the way home from the trading shed. It was good to see the crocus and daffodils growing again, as well as the perennial cornflowers.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to How about that!

  1. Jenny Aspin says:

    It’s great seeing ‘new’ birds, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Flighty says:

    Jenny it sure is, especially as it doesn’t happen very often! xx

  3. Jo says:

    How lucky to have something unusal visit you, especially for Birdwatch. I didn’t manage to find time this weekend to participate, but I visited the pet shop yesterday and to my delight saw a Red Kite overhead. It was in a residential area too, we seem to be seeing more of them about.

  4. dreamfalcon says:

    Congrats on the Blackcap!

  5. Jo says:

    Fantastic – we had only one robin visit us in our hour of birdwatching – although he did come back 3 times!!!!

  6. Doris says:

    Very striking bird that Blackcap. As for Rogers’ chocolates … yum … they are produced in Victoria, British Columbia and when I would visit my parents who moved out there we always made a point of dropping into the store and buying a few treats. Just the wonderful smell of the chocolates would lure you into the store (whose door was always conveniently open). 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Doris it’s rather different looking to the usual birds I see.
      Glo has sent some of their delicious chocolate before, and stores like that are irresistible aren’t they!
      xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, how delightful it is to get gifts like this thoughtful one from Glo! Never mind that it was so delayed. And congrats on seeing a new bird. Good early signs of spring.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is, and just as yours was which I’ll be mentioning here once it takes up residence on the plot!
      Thanks, that doesn’t happen very often.
      It looks like warming up later in the week so there’ll be more to see soon. xx

  8. Glo says:

    How about that, is right! I thought the parcel had found its way into a snowbank in Heathrow or some other snowed in place during December. Well, a scarf can be worn at any time, to add a little flair or warmth 😉 and it’s my guess that the chocolate didn’t melt! Hope you enjoy it.

    Interesting about your new bird ~ perhaps you’ll need a black cap to go with the robin scarf 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks again for these, especially the scarf! I’ve eaten the mint wafer, but saving the bar.
      I was so surprised when I saw the blackcap and kept thinking that I’d misidentified it but I got a really good, long clear look at it. xx

  9. Mo says:

    A scarf and a Black Cap how about that indeed! So pleased you were rewarded for you Birdwatch by seeing something new. We had the usual suspects but I was especially pleased that Jenny Wren made an appearance.

  10. Lynda says:

    Great birdwatching session…
    Love it when spring bulbs begin to appear ;0)

  11. Damo says:

    Good spot Flighty, not had a Black Cap in the garden for a while.

  12. NiC says:

    Wow! I’m envious of your Blackcap. It’s a long time since I’ve seen one and never in London.

  13. Louise says:

    I spotted a Blackcap a month or so back. I am always chuffed to see something ‘a bit different’ in my garden too. x

Leave a Reply

