Happy birdwatching!

For all of us who birdwatch it’s not only one of life’s best simple pleasures but a rewarding one as well.

This weekend over a half a million people here in the UK will be happily spending an hour watching and recording what they see for the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch. The Independent article Birdwatchers of Britain is all about it and makes interesting reading.

Based on what I usually see out the front every morning my count will be small but will hopefully include the chaffinch that I saw earlier in the week.

Have a good weekend, and happy birdwatching!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Happy birdwatching!

  1. Jo says:

    Thanks for the reminder, I had forgotten that it was this weekend. I don’t think I’ll spot anything unusual but you never know.

  2. Mo says:

    I have to ask, please don’t be offended, but do you ever, erm, well…cheat?
    I missed this last year but the year before I sat for an hour and all I saw were my bloomin’ spuggies….so I sat another hour and got a few more species. Did I cheat using the second hour instead of the first? I suppose it doesn’t matter because I only recorded one hour and used the correct times.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I’m not offended as I don’t consider that’s cheating, and I’m sure lots of people do just the same. I often do it on Saturday and again on Sunday then submit whichever is the better list! Far more important is not to cheat on what, and how many, we see.
      Lucky you seeing spuggies* as I don’t see many hereabouts! xx

      [* sparrows for anyone like me who didn’t know the word!]

  3. Mo says:

    Heehee! I deliberately didn’t translate – some people spell it Spoggies, but only posh folk say it like that πŸ™‚

  4. daffy says:

    Must get my check sheet printed off! I’m putting Dad-George in charge of the bird watch this time! David is going to be be put out! Here is hoping for a good few spots and no Sparrow Hawks or Kestrals!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello! You must indeed, and I’m sure that dad and you will have fun doing it. I bet you see some jays, which have become very elusive here again! xx

  5. Maureen says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Flighty! I will definitely participate.

    The results from this birdwatch should be very interesting indeed after all the severe winter weather we’ve had. Sadly, I’ve already noticed fewer birds appearing in my garden.

  6. Doris says:

    Good luck with the chaffinch. Have a great week-end!

  7. Glo says:

    I look forward to seeing your completed checklist as you count up your feathered friends. I can’t keep up with the bunch around here…if I had to count them I’d go loopy πŸ˜‰ They flitter and flutter about like leaves caught up in a windstorm some days.

  8. Jenny Aspin says:

    It is interesting to be able to see the trend over the decades in the Independent article, Flighty. I’ll probably be doing mine on Sunday – and thanks for reminding me. πŸ™‚

  9. Carrie says:

    We’re doing it on Sunday morning πŸ™‚ We now have 2 blue tits, 2 great tits and a robin in our new garden – so happy. I’ll do a blog about it all next week, hugs x

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie that’s when I’ll be doing it as well! That’s good news, and what I usually see out front here. I’m sure that you’ll see more now they know where you are!
      I look forward to reading your post. Take care, and hugs! xx

  10. Ellie says:

    I thought it must be due soon – thanks for the reminder. I suppose that’s the cue for all the birds in my garden to disappear, as they usually seem during Birdwatch. I’m going to make sure the feeders are full – even if that seems cheating!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie it’s always the last weekend in January, you’re welcome. We all say that, and this morning I’ve seen fewer than usual despite putting out extra food as it’s really cold! xx

  11. Anonymous says:

    just seen a Jay

  12. Damo says:

    Hi Flighty, I’ve kept the feeders topped up religiously this winter and the bird sightings have been regular, just this morning there were a couple of bullfinches on one of the feeders. And if all else fails the friendly Robin is a banker.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo good for you, they’ve needed all the help we could give them this winter. Lucky you seeing the bullfinches, and it would sad if we didn’t have our ever present robins wouldn’t it!

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Hope all you birdwatchers had a delightful time!

  14. Hi!

    I did my watch and really enjoyed it. The beautiful Pheasant and Goldfinch didn’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

