The plot hawthorn in January

Following on from The plot hawthorn I’ve decided to try and do a regular monthly post.

This photo was taken the Sunday before last around midday.It looks rather different to when I last photographed it on 1st December 2010 in the cold and snow!

What surprised me when I looked closely were the various colours of the bark. Down near ground level it’s greeny grey which higher up becomes very light ash-grey, with the newer growth being mostly varying shades of chestnut brown.

Providing the weather stays reasonably mild then next month there may be some signs of new growth just starting to appear.

Don’t forget that if you want to part take or just read about the other trees around the world that are being followed then have a look at The Tree Year.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The plot hawthorn in January

  1. Jo says:

    It’s a good idea to do a monthly post, I’m sure there’ll be lots of changes on each post. I’m looking forward to seeing everything spring back in to growth.

  2. Mo says:

    Yes, monthly posts please – we don’t want to miss something πŸ™‚

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Hey, look at the green sprouting here and there (as opposed to the white stuff). The colors of bark are very interesting indeed.

  4. cha0tic says:

    Hawthorn is one of my favourite trees, as I always see the blossom as a sign that Summer is on its way.

    • Flighty says:

      Cha0tic hello and welcome! I like the thought of it’s blossom heralding summer. I don’t remember this one having any last year, as perhaps it was too young and small, so fingers crossed for this year.

  5. mrs K says:

    My Mother used to sing this song:

    I think that I shall never see
    A poem lovely as a tree.

    A tree whose hungry mouth is pressed
    Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;

    A tree that looks at God all day,
    And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

    A tree that may in summer wear
    A nest of robins in her hair;

    Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
    Who intimately lives with rain.

    Poems are made by fools like me,
    But only God can make a tree.

    Joyce Kilmer. 1886–1918

    I thought you just might appreciate this one Flighty.

  6. Doris says:

    I am looking forward to these monthly updates!

  7. Seeing the progress of this fellow will be most interesting πŸ˜€
    Lovely shots of January!

  8. Great post, lovely poem, too! Greetings from tree-land in South Wales.

Leave a Reply

