Garden wildlife

One reason for liking the wintertime is that we get to see wildlife in ways that we don’t for the rest of the year.

Since I started putting bird food out the front as I mentioned in Out back and at the front I have been watching, daily, blue and great tits not only busily flitting about in the leafless lilacs but feeding on the seed I scatter on the top of the brick pillar. I wish that the sparrows were as easy to watch but they perfectly blend into the background so are hard to spot let alone follow.

Next weekend is the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch when I’ll be hoping to do rather better than in past years!  I’ll mention it again towards the end of the week meantime have a read of Tweet and be counted.

Thanks to Sue, my good friend Rich’s wife, I have learnt that the fungi shown in my recent post On Sunday mornings… is aptly called Turkeytail!  Here’s more on another plot logLast week I bought a copy of the Collins Complete Guide to British Garden Wildlife which is a photographic guide to every common species of birds, fungi, insects, months , wildflowers and lots more.

Looking through it I notice plenty of wildlife I’ve seen on the plot and not known what it was so hopefully now I will!  I think that this is going to become a well thumbed book before too long.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Garden wildlife

  1. Mo says:

    Impressive fungi, and your photo illustrate’s the name really well!
    The next question is… is it edible?
    Enjoy your wildlife!

    • Flighty says:

      Mo it is isn’t it, and thanks! No it’s definitely not edible, not that I’m sure I’d try it even if it was.
      I will as I’m constantly surprised at what I see on the plot. xx

      • Mo says:

        I’m always tempted to eat fungi, but too scared senseless to do it. In France you can take fungi to the Chemist and he will tell you if you can eat it – I like that.
        I’d love to go on one of those walks that show and tell but there are never any near us 😦

  2. Jo says:

    That looks like a really useful book. I’m sure it will be well read.

  3. Doris says:

    What a great name for the fungus! That book looks interesting and I’m sure will give you lots of pleasure as you identify all sorts of neat creatures. : -)

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that fungus is fabulous! I bet you’ve enjoyed its tree-ring-like pattern. And well-named, too 🙂

  5. Glo says:

    It’s quite true that the leafless trees offer much easier viewing of the birds. I was just thinking that today as I looked out at the Pink Dogwood where my suet feeders hang. I think the book you bought sounds terrific! I’m the same with the bird books, scouring through the pages. Although the internet is a great resource, a book in hand seems to be so easy to refer to, especially when it is full of photos. Now I don’t just notice the little birds, I want to know what kind they are! I’ll look forward to see what discoveries you make. That turkey tail fungi is aptly named and adds great character to the log while it helps with decomposition. Perfect!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo once the trees and shrubs get leafy the birds all but disappear in them! Yes the book is terrific and it’s much easier to find things in than on the internet.
      I think it’s great that we keep discovering and learning like this.
      The log probably houses various insects as well so I shall be having a closer look now and again. xx

  6. Louise says:

    Yes, I can see why that fungi is called Turkeytail! I have an old version of the Collins wildlife book. I use it all the time, but did once forget and left it outside all night in the rain! You may like to know that the fox has been asleep on one of our garden banks all morning, and its still there! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise the Collins wildlife books have always been excellent reference books. I have a very well thumbed Collins gem Garden Birds.
      Lucky you! Our allotment ones haven’t been seen in ages, mind you no one has been there much lately! xx

Leave a Reply

