Continuing with C…

follows on from Starting with A and B is for… in my occasional series of posts a sort of plot A to Z.

Once I can get working on the plot again one of the first jobs I’ll be doing is emptying the compost bin and spreading lots of crumbly black earth over the ground. It’ll be nice if my feathered friends keep me company again like last year.

Much of the compost will be used on the area where I’ll be growing potatoes. One of the varieties I’ve chosen is the second early Charlotte which is an excellent salad potato.

I bought my seed potatoes at the trading hut last Sunday and I’ve put them out to chit in the spare room until I start planting them out during March.

I’ve not really had much success even growing half decent carrots so far but I’ll be trying again this year, including the heirloom Danvers Half Long.

Courgettes will include Defender F1 Hybrid, but I’ll only be growing one each of three varieties as that should provide more than enough for me and others.

I’ve had no luck growing cucumbers outside but ever optimistic I’m going to try again. This time it’s with the rather different Crystal Lemon ones.

The first flowers to show will be the crocus, which were later than usual last year, and sadly didn’t last very long.

Spring sees the perennial  cornflower (centaurea montana), followed in the summer by the vivid blue annuals (centaurea cyranus) and wild flower lesser knapweed (centaurea nigra) which the insects like.

Summer into autumn will see the wonderful cosmos (cosmos bipinnatus) with both the white Purity and crimson/pink/white Sensation.

Last year I was going to grow coleus (coleus blumei) as an indoor plant but my half-hearted attempt didn’t come to anything so I’m going to try again this year with some Rainbow mixed seed.

Happy gardening!

Edit…Glo has very kindly awarded me her Chocolate Cake Award for this post.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Continuing with C…

  1. Damo says:

    Good selection Flighty, I bought some compost the other day, have just started the long carrot experiment part II, picked up some cheap crocus bulbs and will eventually start chitting my Charlotte spuds when they arrive. A lot of C’s in the gardening vocabulary this month!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Plenty of good Cs, Flighty! With lots of pretty and colorful ones to anticipate once spring arrives. It’s sunny and warm this week. I think the pruned roses will start to sprout.

  3. I saw some stunning road side planters in the summer they were filled with chocolate coloured coleus with a trailing plant that was lime green and red begonias, very striking.

  4. Jo says:

    A good selection for the letter C. I haven’t bought my seed potatoes yet, but I’ve grown Charlotte in the past and they were good. Coleus can be planted outside in the summer as well as being used as indoor plants. They’re often used as bedding. I haven’t had any success with carrots either but I’ll be trying again this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that Charlottes are a must grow variety! My mum always grew coleus in her garden.
      It seems that a lot of us have problems growing carrots! xx

  5. VP says:

    What a lovely idea for a series Flighty and all those links builds up to a very useful almanac over these posts.

    I love crystal lemon cucumbers – they’re just the right size for one or two dinners.

    The C I’m working on at the moment is Chart i.e. the plot plan for this year.

    x

    • Flighty says:

      VP I thought that I’d do them as I’d struggling to do posts through the winter, but of course I’ve had no such problems!
      I hope that I get to find out how good they for myself.
      I just do a rough plan, which I don’t usually adhere to! xx

  6. Glo says:

    Here’s your award for such a lovely Collection ~ 😉

  7. Mo says:

    Cornflowers are one of my favourites.
    Coleus Canina are supposed to keep Cats away.
    Great Celection 🙂

  8. Hey Flighty. Try the Cucumber Wautoma…. i grew it outside last year and it produced some great plants with plenty of fruits.
    Loving your blogs!!!

  9. menhir says:

    It’s good to have plans. I hope the weather works with you and your gardening.

    The nearest to gardening for me, so far, is to pull some dead and drowned stalks out of a plant pot. There will be more to do.

    XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it is indeed. I hope so too but at the moment the weather is reasonable but the ground is waterlogged!
      I’ve done very little myself , but have lots to do. Take care! xx

      • menhir says:

        The waterlogging of the ground must be a fairly general theme at the moment. the plant pot from which I pulled the straggling dead plant stalks showed a mini pond where the root base was. The rest that is in ground is faring no better, also there is a lot of slippy residue underfoot the walking places.

        XX

        • Flighty says:

          Menhir I’m sure it is! I’ve just returned from a walk round the allotments. It was cold and wet, the only consolation being that the crocus and daffodils are peeking through the ground. xx

  10. menhir says:

    I’m still waiting for snowdrops….this time last year, they popped up their heads, discovered they were a bit too early regards the weather and temperatures, to branch out and flower. So, the snowdrops shrank back in to their protective earthen haven, not to be seen for a month or more after their first attempt at appearing.

    XX

  11. Maureen says:

    Fab idea for a series! – it’s fun to click on the links and read more. It sounds like you have your allotment all planned out. Roll on spring!

Leave a Reply

