Say that again…

in plain English please I said to the guy in the technical department, having listened to him spouting incomprehensible jargon and waffle for several minutes. It was Saturday evening and I was unable to connect to the broadband. At least the call was free and they’re now in the UK rather than abroad.

He suggested that I do some checks then call back if they didn’t resolve the problem. I did and they didn’t.Β  Okay it’ll take three days to run checks our end and then possibly at least a week to put it right.Β  I’d lost interest by then so said okay (which it wasn’t) and hung up.

Rather surprisingly it connected on Monday evening when I tried it without thinking. I phoned them and was told that it had not long been sorted. It was also suggested that my modem needs updating and they would send me one, and no it wouldn’t cost anything.

Please note that I’m going to change my ISP (Internet Service Provider) in the near future so don’t be too surprised if I disappear again when I do.

So that’s why I didn’t do my regular Sunday post or comment on friends blogs for a few days as I usually do.Β  I may not do a post tomorrow so it’s likely be the weekend before the next one.

I’ll finish with this which made me laugh!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Say that again…

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Nice to have you back online, Flighty. And hurray for easy technical fixes — believe me. I’m still buried in new music to input and piles of work so won’t post for a while yet. Take care!

  2. Ellie says:

    Glad it’s sorted – nothing is more guaranteed to cause irritation and stress than having to deal with stuff like that. My internet connection has been erratic too, these last few days, and I feel quite lost without it. Love that cartoon!

  3. Jenny Aspin says:

    Hope it goes smoothly from now on, Flighty. πŸ™‚

  4. Jo says:

    Ha ha, the cartoon made me laugh too. Glad you’re all sorted now. My son is having problems with his laptop at the moment, just out of warranty too.

  5. Doris says:

    Hope all goes well now. Computers – can’t live with them and can’t live without them! : -)
    Loved the bird cartoon. It made me chuckle.

  6. Glo says:

    Welcome back πŸ™‚ I have had a similar experience when my modem became outdated. It isn’t until you can’t connect that they let you know this valuable information! My connection has been much better with the new modem, but whenever it seems to bog down, I turn it off at the source for 30 seconds and then turn it back on again. That seems to clear things up … or maybe it’s time to renew once again… it doesn’t take long for technology to race ahead.

    I enjoyed the cartoon as well πŸ™‚ I remember when we lived in England that a radio was referred to as the wireless.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! All my hardware is secondhand but I keep the software up to date.
      I thought that you would. I wonder why it was called a wireless, as well as a radio! xx

  7. Mo says:

    The joys of technology eh? To join the Club, my printer has decided it doesn’t like printing in B&W any more. Like the cartoon.

  8. Amy says:

    Glad to have you back online. If you do decide to switch ISP I highly recommend Plusnet – they have great customer support as well as a reliable service.

    http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/phones/cheap-broadband

  9. Debbie says:

    It is a nightmare when it goes wrong, especially if like me you don’t understand the question so haven’t a hope of giving a suitable answer, but fingers crossed that the new modem and ISP change will all go smoothly. Very funny cartoon, thanks.

  10. Damo says:

    Our complaints team have just been through the official Plain English training although I’ve yet to be taught (I’d hope I knew it already though!). Glad your technical difficulties have been sorted.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo I do sympathise with them to a certain extent as having to deal with some people must be so exasperating. However having said that it’s always the technical departments that seem to be the worst ones to talk to. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

