More trees

Both Glo and Mo have chosen trees to follow during the year as a result of reading my recent post The plot hawthorn.

Glo’s is a corkscrew hazel which she passes on her regular walks down to beach. Her first post about it Making Days Count with the help of Harry! intrigued me somewhat but if you read it, the comments and subsequent posts all will be explained.

Mo is a new friend, and fellow member of UK Veg Gardeners , whose most enjoyable blog is A Small Holding.  She has chosen the rowan tree in her garden which she sees every day.

Have a look at The Tree Year for a list of trees chosen so far, which include a white mulberry in Central Park New York,  a honeysuckle in a pot on a balcony in Switzerland and a tree in Kuwait. Others are to found in Australia, Turkey, France and elsewhere.

Many gardeners, myself included, will be settling down on Friday evening at 8.30pm to watch Life in a Cottage Garden with Carol Klein which is a new six part series. In this weeks programme Winter she tackles an unruly clementis that’s grown too successfully into a crab apple tree.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to More trees

  1. Glo says:

    Flighty, I think you have begat a veritable forest! Thanks for the linked mention. Visiting my tree each day has certainly added some fun and fitness to the beginning of the New Year. Hope you enjoy your program 🙂

  2. Jo says:

    Trees around the world are being watched. It will certainly open people’s eyes to the way they change through the seasons. I think we can sometimes miss what goes on under our own noses. I’m looking forward to Carol Klein’s programme. I’ve already set it on Sky+ to watch without being disturbed.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo the diversity and locations of those chosen are amazingly varid. It will indeed, and I think that your right about us not seeing things.
      It was a most enjoyable programme, and I look forward to the rest of the series. xx

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh Flighty – we haven’t got our trees yet as the garden is a building site 😦 I shall watch from the sidelines instead though – fabulous idea. Or is it okay to plifer a tree from the roadside that I don’t even know what it could be and follow that??
    Hugs xx

    • Mo says:

      Carrie, I think following an unknown tree would be brilliant. Some people may spoil your fun and tell you what it is, but you could ask them not to and then ‘detect’ what it is as the year progresses. There will be plenty of clues.
      (Sorry to butt in, Flighty)
      🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie you can chose any tree(s) anywhere! So if you have a favourite somewhere chose that, or I like your idea of pilfering an unknown one! Hugs. xx

  4. Mo says:

    Thanks for the linked mention 🙂

    You have a lot to answer for, Flighty. Does it bother you that if we all abandon our trees they will uproot and come and find you? 😉

  5. Glo says:

    Mo, don’t be giving me any ideas about animated uprooted trees. My imagination takes off and magic begins to happen 😉 However, Harzel is keeping me out of trouble so far. I’m wondering who is going to be the first to admit they’ve spoken to their tree… LOL

  6. Louise says:

    I enjoyed Life in a Cottage Garden with Carol Klein. It did rather make me panic though, at the work I have yet to to do in my garden in readiness for Spring! x

  7. lovely post and cheers to trees! that’s my only problem with living in the woods… i don’t really have an excuse to bring more trees into my garden when the poor beds are already fighting for sunlight.

    happy new year Flighty!

    • Flighty says:

      Allison@a tasteful garden thanks! Lucky you living where you do as I live surrounded by buildings and roads, although thankfully there are trees as well.
      Thanks again, and to you too! xx

Leave a Reply

