On Sunday mornings…

I’m usually at the Newton Park Horticultural Society trading shed making the tea, eating biscuits and generally helping out. However the past two weeks it’s been closed so yesterday I took some accumulated household waste to the plot for the compost heap.

It was a bright, cold and dry morning so I spent a pleasant couple of hours doing some tidying up. I’d only just started when the robin appeared at my boot tips. The dark area is a covering of mushroom compost over a group of gladioli bulbs and the green spot is the clump of michaelmas daisies that I replanted back in the autumn. At the top edge of this area I also spotted the first daffodil just peeking through the ground.

Walking round I noticed that this log has a lot of fungi growing on it.

Next week I’ll be back at the shed where the second thing I’ll do, after switching the kettle on, is refill the resident robin’s water and scatter some seed around.  This one comes into the shed sometimes if the doors are left open, but has proved elusive when I’ve tried to take photos of it.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to On Sunday mornings…

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Impressive fungus, Flighty. If you find out what it is called, please let me know – I’m getting quite interested in fungi, and need to learn more about them.

  2. Carrie says:

    quite glad someone else has trouble getting a great close up of their robin friend – mine is so camera shy 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie even my plot robin is camera shy at times. I’ve often got muddy hands or the camera is in the shed and I’m standing there thinking what a great photo that would be! xx

  3. Glo says:

    That looks like very healthy soil, Flighty and the addition of your compost is like icing on the cake. A daffodil daring to brave the winter…it’s probably been sent up as a scout by the others to check out the likelihood of survival! I must check my garden patch where I planted some daffodils after reading about Bliss planting hundreds. How lovely that your robin stops by so frequently. The robin in my garden looks about 3 times the size and isn’t nearly as cute as yours….however, it’s good to see one, nonetheless. You’ll be looking forward to getting back to the shed, the tea, the biscuits, and the comraderie, I’m sure.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo the soil is getting noticably better as I’ve added compost and horse manure to it. That was the only daffodil tip so far but will now look out for others.
      The robin arrived by flying through my legs and landing right by my boot! It’s not surprising that it’s our favourite bird over here.
      You’re right, I’ve certainly missed going to the trading shed the past two weeks as it’s become a regular part of my Sunday routine. xx

  4. Glo says:

    PS, the fungi is amazing…looks like some stepping stones for a magical creature 😉

  5. Jo says:

    I haven’t seen any daffodils poking through the soil yet, I must investigate my garden further to see if there’s any evidence of any. Great picture of the fungi.

  6. Jan says:

    Thanks for telling us a bit more about your horticultural society, it sounds like a really useful facility. I joined a local one last year, but its mainly talks and raffles with the odd plant sale and outing, its not attached to a group of allotments. Would be really useful to be able to buy stuff at a discount.
    Look forward to more robin pix!

    • Flighty says:

      Jan you’re welcome, and it sure is. We took delivery of our onion sets and seed potatoes this morning so on Sunday morning it’ll be like the Harrods sale in the shed!
      Rest assured any good ones I take I’ll share with you all. xx

  7. Louise says:

    Don’t talk to me about robins being elusive! I have a fascination for fungi. Lovely photo Flighty. x

  8. Mark Willis says:

    Hi Flighty; I have discovered a great website for identifying fungi, that you might be interested in. It’s called “Visual Fungi” – http://www.mushrooms.org.uk
    Using it, I have identified your fungi as “Coriolus Versicolor” or Many-zoned Polypore.

  9. Liz says:

    How fortunate I am to be able to add “Coriolus Versicolor” to my vocabulary, thanks to Mark! Your fungi is impressive, and “fungi” or “fungus” is about as for as I go! I agree with Jan that your posts about the horticultural society are very interesting.

Leave a Reply

