The plot hawthorn

The Tree Year is a blog which caught my eye during December , which I decided I’d initially support by listing it as a link, and following on Facebook and Twitter.

I then thought about a tree that I could watch and post about. There are plenty of trees at home, and this impressive willow just outside the allotment site entrance.

However on the plot are three trees – a young oak that is not yet knee high, a plum which appeared last spring growing through the pallet planking and the one that I’ve chosen to watch.

It’s the plot hawthorn growing midway along the top edge, by the roadway, and is about a metre high. I took this photo a month ago which shows just how thorny they are!

I shall do several specific posts through the coming year including showing the white flowers, distinctive leaves and red berries.

It was interesting reading all about the hawthorn, and especially to see how important they are for wildlife.

Trees are vital to us all in so many ways and that is reflected with the United Nations making this the International Year of Forests.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The plot hawthorn

  1. dreamfalcon says:

    I think it’s great that you also choose a tree. It will be great to see what you’ll find on your Hawthorn throughout the year.

  2. Jo says:

    Great choice. It will be interesting to note the changes throughout the year. Happy New Year.

  3. Jo says:

    This looks like a great idea – I planted a few saplings in our garden with my son last year for Tree O Clock – maybe I will choose one of them – now they have reappeared from under a blanket of snow.

  4. Mo says:

    I like this idea and look forward to following your project.

  5. Doris says:

    What a great idea! I am looking forward to seeing it change through the seasons.

  6. Pingback: More Trees | The Tree Year

  7. Glo says:

    I became so excited about finding my own tree that I forget to comment on yours! Here’s to Hawthorn and Harzel having a great New Year with lots of fun to boot!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that’s okay! I thought that you’d misspelt Harzel so corrected it, then I read your post and had to recorrect it!
      It’ll be interesting to see how such different trees progress through the year. xx

  8. Louise says:

    I know all about Hawthorn as we have two in our garden, which need pruning again, sigh. A prickly job to say the least! The birds love them though. I must find a tree to watch and post about? Happy New Year to you! x

  9. Liz says:

    Following a tree is a great idea. It is so sad to see so many people have perfectly healthy specimens removed from their properties for no apparent reason, and then not replaced. One neighbor told me he was not replacing his street trees because they interfered with his lawn mowing! What can you say to such a comment?!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I agree it is. It’s a shame that people see trees like that as they’re more important to us, and wildlife, than lawns are. What indeed, I would be at a loss to respond. xx

Leave a Reply

