Out back and at the front

Last winter in the snowy weather I started scattering bird food out back and saw a surprising variety of birds. However the number of pigeons, mostly feral and a few wood, eventually exceeded twenty so once the weather improved I just scattered some where they couldn’t get too it very easily.

I’m doing the same again and last Thursday, when it was snowy, I saw a grey wagtail just as I did last winter! Since then I’ve seen a much more familiar pied wagtail, which is a first for out back.

Looking out of the living room window the other day I wondered if it was worth scattering some bird food at the front on the brick pillar, adjacent wall and on the nearby groundI soon found that it is as so far I’ve seen robins, blackbirds (male and female), magpies and sparrows. Up in the lilac trees either side of the path I’ve seen both blue and great tits, and best of all down on the ground a wren which when seen near a robin made me appreciate just how tiny it is.

I’ve seen them all at various times of the day, got a good look at them rather than just quick glimpes and what’s more there’s been no pesky pigeons!

Once it gets dark and I’ve pulled the curtains that’s not quite the end of the show as there’s this delightful birthday card to look at that I got from Nikki .

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Out back and at the front

  1. Jo says:

    I love attracting different birds in to the garden. I’ve never yet seen a grey wagtail or a pied wagtail though. I had a visit from a wren last week, they are really small. What an unusual birthday card, nice to display for a little longer than usual.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo me too! Grey wagtails are not common but I’m surprised that you’ve not seen any pied wagtails. We were both lucky then, and this was the best view I’ve had yet of a wren.
      The mantleshelf is full of cards that I really like, some of which have been there for ages! xx

  2. Jenny Aspin says:

    Lovely card. We have lots of blue tits and great tits at present and, less welcome, magpies and pigeons.

  3. midwifemuse says:

    The problem with scattering though is the weeds from the birds left-overs! Lots of interesting birds around at the moment though, saw a jay and a waxwing(?).

    • Flighty says:

      Midwifemuse hello, it’s not a problem here as gardens are pretty unkempt! There are indeed. I’d like to see more of jays than I do and a waxwing which I’ve never seen before. xx

  4. Carrie says:

    We are trying to get the birds into our garden – nuts and seeds galore but on a new build they are staying away. We are bad people I guess as our new house is where there once was a huge mature front garden *don’t hate me* x

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie don’t be silly you’re good people and there’s no way I’d ever hate you!
      Once you get plants growing in the garden next year you’ll see birds. They may be a bit scarce until then but you never know the nuts and seeds may entice some now! xx

  5. Damo says:

    Good selection of birds Flighty. Not seen any wagtails here although often see them by the river at work. Lots of blackbirds, the ever faithful Robin, and the not so welcome pigeons!

  6. Doris says:

    Thanks for the RSPB links. Lots of great info!

  7. Glo says:

    I’m busy running from front to back windows checking out the birds, too! Sounds like your seeds at the front are appreciated by all sorts of feathered friends. They are so much fun to watch…I am especially enjoy the visits from my little red headed friend πŸ˜‰

    • Flighty says:

      Glo whichever room I go into I always look out the window! It seems so and I can see them from the armchair, sofa or here sitting in front of the PC. They really are, and I’m sure you are! xx

  8. mrs K says:

    Oh we are so sad up here. We still have loads of birds and lots of different species, but we had a ‘Charm’ of Goldfinches who lived in a hedge very near us and we had talked the Council into not cutting the hedge in Autumn, just in the Spring and a very light cut.

    Well 17th November and it snowed and I mean snow like I could not remember, followed by sub zero temperatures – never getting above minus 5 during the day and down as low as minus 18 in the valley bottom, whilst in the garden minus 14. And its only in the past four days we have not had anything below zero at night and managed to get up to plus 5 during the day.

    Result is no Goldfinches whatsoever. Checked with friends, no sightings, checked with RSPB, it seems that if they are caught off guard then can freeze to death. We can only hope that this has not happened and they made it somewhere warmer.

    We started out with two in 1998 and in September this year counted 39.

    We are keeping our fingers, toes, eyes and everything else crossed.

    Keep feeding Flighty, we cannot afford to lose any of them, they bring such joy with their songs and flights.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I remember you mentioning them before! Sadly that’s almost inevitable for most small birds when it’s a hard winter, and two consecutive winters like this makes it even worse.
      I’ll keep my fingers crossed as well just in case!
      I’ve been stocking up with bird food so that now I think I’d run out well before they do if I get snowed in.
      Bird watching is one of lifes best simple pleasures that’s for sure.
      Take care, and stay warm! xx

Leave a Reply

