B is for…

a bleak looking plot, which it was on Thursday morning!

However I’m not going to dwell on the weather but move swiftly on to beetroot. Next year I’ll be growing my usual red and golden varieties,Β  and I’ve also got this rather interesting looking packet of Beet Gourmet Blend seed.

Beansborlotti, French climbing and runner – all did well this year and I’ll be growing them again next year using seed that I saved.

Bees, birds and butterflies are all be to seen, and mostly welcomed on the plot.Β  There are hives nearby so honey bees are always buzzing aroundBirds that are always welcome are the delightful robins, and whenever they appear to keep me company they warm my spirit with their presenceDuring the summer I often see butterflies fluttering around but always find them rather elusive when taking photos. This shot was a lucky exception

Creeping buttercups are considered to be a weed but I do let some grow, mostly around the dustbin lid pond.

I’ll be treating myself to a gardening book for Christmas,Β  and think that it will probably be A Vegetable Gardener’s Year by ‘Dirty Nails’, which has been highly recommended.

Edit…Glo has very kindly awarded me her Tea and BISCUIT Award for this post!

[This is the second post of an occasional series a sort of plot A to Z, which follows on from Starting with A]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to B is for…

  1. Doris says:

    More wonderful pictures! I especially love the Robin. The shadows add a nice quality to the picture and there is a reflective expression on this little bird. The bee and butterfly are also nice to see (especially for me here in Montreal with snow coming down and a cold wind blowing)…

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks! I wasn’t going to take any photos of him as he was mostly obscured whilst I was watching him. I thought that these summery pictures would cheer us all up in this cold weather. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, I can see how the plot can look a bit bleak with snow and barren twiggy stuff, but it also means a break for the gardener! And I see you’ve got it well in hand with good memories of plot joys from birds to butterflies. Those are really great shots, Flighty. Good luck with the beets πŸ™‚ I’m getting ready to harvest my golden beets (probably should’ve done so a while ago….

    And a wave to Doris — thanks for visiting the cats!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it was really as bleak as it looks. I’ve left the twiggy stuff as shelter for the wildlife. It’s nice to have pictures like these as reminder of what I’ve seen.
      Thanks, I’ll obviously mention how I get on with my beets, and it seems funny you saying that you’re just about to harvest yours! xx

  3. Glo says:

    Beautiful beyond belief πŸ™‚ Your award follows:

  4. Glo says:

    I’m making a mess of presenting this award, but I will try again in a minute… in the meantime, Flighty, I looked up the book that you are buying for Christmas, and it looks great. I had a peek inside via Amazon, and I learned a new word in the glossary: ‘Brashing’ – which is a term referring to for lopping off tree branches at head height… better than ‘bashing’ if you didn’t.

    Now, here I go again with the aforementioned presentation…. TA DA, Ladies and Gentlemen, birds, bees, bugs, and blooms, here forthwith is the award:

  5. Jo says:

    You’re brave visiting the plot in this weather. I haven’t seen mine for a few weeks now. I haven’t heard of that book before but it looks good, another one for the wish list I think.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thankfully it’s just a few minutes walk away, and I really wanted to see if there were any fox tracks on the site – which there weren’t!
      I’ll do a book review post once I read it. xx

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention B is for… | Flighty's plot -- Topsy.com

  7. Glo says:

    Thanks for fixing up my comments ~ and I’m glad to hear you like your Tea and Biscuit award. Couldn’t let B go by without a Biscuit or two. Did you notice that the snowman has already taken a few bites of his biscuit while he is waiting for his steamy cup of tea to cool…which shouldn’t take long in that weather! πŸ˜‰ Just rain here today, with temps warming up to about 8C which seems fairly tropical after the cold snap.

  8. Liz says:

    Glo is very creative when it comes to awards!!

Leave a Reply

