Frosty plot

I took these frosty plot photos yesterday morning

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They are the frosty plot,  raspberry,  comfrey,  leek,  yarrow,  globe artichoke,  crocosmia,  rosemary,  rose,  mallow,  fennel,  pot marigold and teasel.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Frosty plot

  1. NiC says:

    …looks very much like our plot did this morning! The ground was too hard to dig so we didn’t spend very long there. Pretty though….

    • Flighty says:

      NiC I spent a couple of hours there on Friday but only twenty minutes or so yesterday. The ice in the water tanks has got really thick already! As you say it all looks rather good…

  2. Doris says:

    Frost is so lovely but I imagine the plants would have a different opinion!

  3. mrs K says:

    I would settle for the frost at present. 6 inches and still snowing!!!!

    But we are warm and dry, plenty in the larder and freezer and loads of seed for the birds. And we do not have to stir out at all. Just look at the wonderland around us.
    Loved Carol Klein, wish she hosted GW. TB I just cannot get along with at all.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K there’s still no snow here!
      It’s good to know that you’re well stocked and can stay indoors to enjoy the wintry scenery.
      I wish that GW would revert to a more relevent gardening programme regardless of who presents it!
      Take care, and stay warm. xx

  4. Glo says:

    Was Jack Frost nibbling at your finger tips when you were taking those pretty frosty plant shots? How apt to have a slide show, with all the slippery-ness about 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I gave up taking photos as my fingers were starting to hurt with the cold! I did the slideshow as I couldn’t decide on which few to use in the post. xx

  5. Jo says:

    Frost makes everything look so pretty, as though it’s been decorating. We’ve got snow here and more forecast too.

  6. Maureen says:

    Lovely photos, Flighty!

  7. Damo says:

    Great photos Flighty, far too cold for me at the moment!

  8. menhir says:

    Ever so sorry, all I got was a black square with a ‘w’ whirling in the centre. I am sure that could not have been your frosty plot. It is probably a plot of a different kind! 🙂

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, how love that frost looks…. from sunny and slightly chilly but not nearly as frosty Southern California 😉 Have you got snow coming up later this week?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, and make that sunny and very chilly indeed!
      Thankfully there’s been no snow here, and none is forecast. It is bitterly cold though with temperatures staying below freezing, and the wind making it feel even colder. Have a look at the Met Office – local weather link on my plot people list. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Actually, I’ve got “snow” over at my blog now!

  11. mrs K says:

    Frosty

    Good – snow keeps plants warm. Hope you were well prepared, it looks as though its here for sometime yet. Dug my wellies out and am feeding birds, given up on shovelling, fast as you move it, it comes down some more. C’est la vie. But its still a wonderland.

    Wish I was young enough to get the sledge out Yippee.

  12. Ellie says:

    Great photos – and I’m really impressed by the slide show. I’ve got frosted leeks too – and I need to be brave and pick and prepare some for supper! Maybe …… xx

  13. Louise says:

    Your photos really set the scene of a cold and frosty plot. Can you believe we have gone from knee-deep in snow, to knee-deep in rain, overnight! Must re-discover how to put that snow back on my blogs? x

  14. Liz says:

    This is a very artistic slide show in grey. I keep meaning to comment on comfrey– one of the best plants in my garden, for its bold leaves and also for its nutrient and mineral value in the compost pile or in compost tea. And, its medicinal uses in herbal lore.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, it has been like that the past few days. I have a handful of comfrey plants which I let flower for the bees then cut back to the ground then add to the compost heap. I do that several times a year. xx

Leave a Reply

