A seedy Sunday

Having read Damo’s somewhat seedy post Best Laid Plans… during last week I thought that I’d follow suit as I had a sort out of all my various seeds yesterday afternoon.

I’ve got a mix of ones I’ve been given, packets not used, seed saved and others that I’ve bought.  I buy some from Kings Seeds, via the Horticultural Society, and most vegetable ones from More Veg. I highly recommend the latter if you only need small quantities. I ordered mine online before lunch one day and they were on the doormat the next morning complete with a handwritten note from Rachel.

I’m not listing them but will say that the flowers include six varieties of sunflowers,  and among the vegetables I’m trying leeks, parsnips and swedes for the first time.

I’ve avoided saying that I’ve got all that I need as,  like all gardeners,  I’m a bit of a seedoholic so there’s bound to be more before I start sowing next spring!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A seedy Sunday

  1. Damo says:

    Hi Flighty, that’s a great collection. I’m going to check out More Veg as I often have too many seeds in a packet for my needs. You can never say never with seeds there’s always something else to sow!

  2. Glo says:

    It’s good to see Spring is sorted, with anticipation all packaged in neat little groups. It’s kind of like nature itself. I noticed the other day (before the snowfall), there was a withered cherry tree leaf, accompanied by a couple of hanging dried cherry stones, beside a new cluster of tightly bound buds. When I saw the buds, I thought to myself, “Now there’s next Spring all bundled up for winter, waiting until the time is right to pop!” So there is eternal Spring, either hidden under the ground, perched on the end of branches, or on your kitchen table 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo mostly but not all sorted as there’s still onion sets and seed potatoes to get early in the new year.
      I’ve not seen any new growth yet but I’m sure that it won’t be long before I do. Mind you there is cold weather and snow forecast for here at the end of the week!
      I do like the idea of eternal Spring like that. xx

  3. Doris says:

    What a great idea to photograph all those seed packets. Happy planting!

  4. Jo says:

    I wait until after Christmas to get out my seeds and check for anything that’s missing. That’s the time that I put everything in date order for when they need sowing too. It’s good to try something new each year, I don’t think you’ll regret growing parsnips.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I see some linaria seeds in there — love those little flowers. Such fun to look at what the future may hold 😉

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention A seedy Sunday | Flighty's plot -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

