The pictures of November

November is perhaps my least favourite month what with it being dark in the mornings and again by mid afternoon. The weather has been cold, wet and windy leaving gardens, and allotments, looking rather forlorn.

I came across this poem recently which paints a somewhat cheerier picture.

November Pictures by Iris Hesselden

The city in November time

Lies grey and dark and cold,

But in the woods and on the fells,

There’s russet, brown and gold.

Through city streets, the chill wind creeps,

But on our woodland walks

The wind goes sighing through the trees,

He whispers and he talks.

And higher on the climbing hills

He carries us along,

Then we are dancing with the clouds

And in our hearts a song.

The river running swift and sure,

The small streams racing by,

The heron* standing poised and still,

The wild birds flying high.

Through all the short, dark winter days,

This beauty we’ll remember,

The falling leaves, the hillside path,

The pictures of November.

Have a good weekend!

[* My thanks to Uphilldowndale for the superb heron photo. Her blog also shows plenty of other images that relate to this poem.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The pictures of November

  1. Jo says:

    I don’t mind November as there’s always Christmas to look forward to. I think my least favourite month is January or February.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there is that but Christmas isn’t a good time for me! By February I’m thinking about starting to get plotting seriously again, weather permitting. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, I like that line about beauty we’ll remember. Coincidentally, I also posted about November. But November here is one of the most beautiful months. Flowers (especially roses) are waking up again usually after a long hot summer (ours wasn’t as hot this year) and the days are crisp and clear. We might get some rain, but certainly nothing like you have.

  3. Damo says:

    My vote would go for January too. There’s still things happening on the plot this month and it can be quite mild for walks in the wood, and a good time for sloe picking! Great poem.

  4. Doris says:

    I have always said that November is my least favorite month but the last two years have given us very sunny (and sometimes mild) Novembers. Now I feel guilty for maligning this month!

    I very much enjoyed the poem. Thank you Flighty!

  5. Thank you for your kind words, I could have sworn I left a message here a couple of days ago, maybe I left it somewhere else!!

  6. Glo says:

    It is a lovely poem you have found to acknowledge November ~ of course you started it off with a pretty rose for my birthday, so at least the first day was celebratory πŸ™‚ If you do get tired of looking at grey and wet, you could look over here and see white with snow! We had about 4 inches last night, and the sun came out for awhile this afternoon and glistened up the branches. It’s a winter wonderland looking kind of place with the roads already melted or cleaned off by the crews. Last night I saw huge flashes of lightening that made the sky a phosphorescent colour! Wow! No grey or wet for now. Even though you may find Christmas difficult, there is magic in the air if you look for it πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, and yes the roses, mine and Nikki’s, always cheer me up! This coming week looks like being dry but cold here. I’ve seen your snow which sure looks pretty but I’d really rather not see any here.
      I suppose that it’s the long run up to Christmas that we have to endure nowadays that I find rather difficult as I’ve learnt to cope with the holiday period itself.
      As you rightly say though there’s always some magic to be found! xx

Leave a Reply

