Plot wildlife

I get nearly as much pleasure out of seeing the various wildlife on the plot as I do growing flowers, soft fruit and vegetables.

I set out to make the plot wildlife friendly and feel that I have succeeded when I look back at what I’ve done. That includes a wild patch, with a logpile and a small pond, and lots of flowers like this cosmosthat attract bees and butterflies.

Considering how little time I’m actually there each week I feel that I’ve been lucky to see such things as a fox drinking from one of the ponds, a young frog on the pond edge, a parakeet chomping on a sunflower and a painted lady butterfly resting on the grass.

Among the more familiar, and welcome, insects are ladybirds

However it is the robins that, not surprisingly, put a smile on my face as this one did yesterdayand it’s little wonder that they are among everyone’s wildlife favourites.

Last Thursday Autumnwatch featured garden wildlife and this really excellent webpage Wildlife Gardening is well worth a look, as is Wild About Gardens.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Plot wildlife

  1. Damo says:

    Thanks Flighty I’ll take a look at those sites. It’s great to encourage as much wildlife as we can into our gardens and allotments. I enjoyed a nice walk in the woods yesterday, the birds are a bit easier to spot now the leaves are off the trees!

    • Flighty says:

      Damo they’re worth looking at. I agree as nowadays gardens and allotments are vital as wildlife habitats.
      That sounds good to me, and I find that they are as well!

  2. Jo says:

    I spotted a robin in my garden today. He doesn’t seem to hang around here all the time, but does return when the weather gets cold. You’ve done really well to attract such a variety of wildlife to your plot, you’ve certainly been rewarded for your efforts.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m lucky as there are resident robins at home and on the allotments so I see, and/or hear, them everyday. Thanks I’m well pleased, and of course there are lots of fascinating insects as well which tend to get overlooked. xx

  3. menhir says:

    Hello Mr F,

    It is lovely to see a broad population of wildlife attracted to the plot. Do be careful about attracting foxes into the urban environment around you. We saw what happened to the twin baby girls only this year.

    I heard an interesting bird noise a couple of weeks ago, whilst out for a meander. I stood under the tree branches from where I heard it coming. It had crick,crack and wood pecking orchestration. When I spotted the bird, ( it spotted me and flew) I saw it was a robin.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks! Apparently there’s always been foxes living on, or very near to, the allotments but I certainly do nothing to attract them, unlike a plot neighbour who feeds them and has even had some of them eating out of her hand!
      Yes I’ve been confused like that sometimes. I have to say that apart from the really distinct parakeet sound I’m not much good at identifying bird songs! xx

  4. Mas says:

    I love seeing your photos – and you’ve gotten some great ones there again; I’m impressed by your robin in particular — mostly because everytime I try and take a photo of a robin they tend to tease me and fly out of shot just as I’m about to push the button; sometimes close enough so I can re-aim — only to fly out of shot again.

    I did catch a town fox the other week; one darting out from the houses into a little park-walkway thing (all trees and bushes). Which was a pleasant surprise (I think it might be the only fox I’ve seen “in the flesh” so far; although there was an incident when I was a child and there was a blur of red that darted from one side of the garden to the other; but none of us were close enough to tell if it were a fox or squirrel (or a particularly furry cat).

    Hope you’ve had a good weekend there
    M

    • Flighty says:

      Mas thanks, I have to say that you generally see the best of the best as many I take are ‘rubbish’ shots! My robins usually pose when I’ve muddy hands and the camera is in the shed.
      It’s typical that some people see foxes all the time and others hardly at all. I’ve not seen much of the allotment ones for months now.
      I had a good weekend doing nothing much, I hope that yours was a good one!

  5. Doris says:

    I love your photos and especially the robin. Such saucy looking little birds. I wish we had them in Canada.

  6. Glo says:

    Lovely photos, Flighty ~ and my favorite is the sweet robin, which I can understand would bring a smile. Ladybirds are also cute and beneficial as are the bees. Butterflies are beautiful!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! The robins really do brighten up plot visits, especially at this time of year. I’m always happy to see ladybirds and bees as both are so beneficial.
      I wish that there were more butterflies but sadly numbers have dropped really dramatically in recent years. xx

  7. Sue says:

    I love to have wildlife on our plot and in our garden too. We know that there are foxes about but haven’t seen one yet – not actually in either place but have seen one crossing a main road near to home.
    We have frogs, toads and newts by the bucketful and they are really welcome.

    • Flighty says:

      Sue hello, and good for you!
      Some foxes are rather elusive, and I’ve not seen much of ours lately. Lucky you, I guess that thanks to them you don’t have much of a problem with slugs and snails! xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    What a spectacular shot of that cosmos and bee! I love the vibrant colours — and the bee is apparently enjoying itself immensely. It is lovely to see life in the garden isn’t it? And fun that you have caught some of them on camera to share with the rest of us. Friendly fellow, that sweet robin. How nice that he seems so unafraid.

  9. Flighty says:

    Nikki I’m well pleased with the bee photo as I’ve taken loads but they have never been much good. Yes, it is lovely seeing all the various wildlife, and taking pictures it as well.
    The robin appeared as soon as I turned back the black plastic sheeting, which he’s perched on, covering the compost heap as there’s plenty there for him to eat. They often appear completely fearless which makes them so wonderfully friendly. xx

  10. Liz says:

    A charming post to remind us to take pleasure in the beauty of nature and wildlife.

Leave a Reply

