Remembrance Day 2010

Other posts commemorating today included Mas’s poem Poppy, Uphilldowndale’s Lest We Forget, Jo’s We will remember them, Damo’s Remembrance, La Spice’s poem Lest we forget, in Canada Kath on Vision and Verb with Lest We Forget and in the USA Deyank’s Veterans Day 2010. All are well worth reading!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Remembrance Day 2010

  1. Jo says:

    Let’s hope we never forget the meaning of this day. I was pleased to learn that they have a remembrance tree in the hall of my kids school. I find that things that are done in primary schools are often forgotten about once they get to secondary school, but not in this case. This morning, my daughter was working out which lesson she would be in 11 o clock when she would be stopping to remember.

  2. Jo says:

    My youngest son made a poppy at school this week and even though the schools are shut here for inservice day today my eldest sons high school held their 2 minute silence today – and he said it brought a tear to his eye – I am very proud of him that he knows the significance of today.

  3. I was in the canteen of a factory; the fire siren blasted and all stopped. Just as it should.
    My Remembrance Day post was late, but I got there in the end.

  4. Damo says:

    We also had a fire alarm blast at the start and finish and all stood still for 2 minutes…….

  5. Doris says:

    I remembered my Dad today and how he suffered in World War II for all of us. He came home unlike so many and for that I am grateful.

  6. deyank says:

    Thanks very much for your comment on my blog, Flighty. I read every one of your cites in your blog entry. Just too bad that Remembrance/Veterans Day doesn’t last all year.

    Bill

  7. Mas says:

    Many thanks for the mention (sorry it’s taken a few days to come over and comment); everyone did really good posts to mark the occasion and remember. Thank you for the “round-up” post, and thank you for sharing.
    M

  8. Louise says:

    I saw on Monday, a large group of young school children on a field trip, surrounding the cenotaph in Worthing. They had notebooks and pens, and looked very interested. Heartwarming. x

Leave a Reply

