The magic of gardening

Over the coming winter I intend rereading these good gardening books.

I was given Allotment Gardening – An Organic Guide for Beginners by Susan Berger when I got the plot and I do refer to it occasionally. It’s a concise, easy read full of good advice and I’m sure that reading it again will prove useful.

Another book that I got then was The Vegetable & Herb Expert by Dr. D.G. Hessayon which I’ve frequently referred to but have never sat down and read it cover to cover.

Allotment & Gardening Guide by Twigs Way is a monthly guide to better wartime gardening which aptly illustrates how timelessness the seasonal process of gardening is.

The Natural Gardener – The Way We All Want to Garden by Val Bourne is one of my favourite books. It follows a year in her garden from winter through to autumn and is a joy to read and full of wonderful photos.Β  I often refer to it to read up on wildlife such as bumblebees, butterflies and even slugs!

The Bedside Book of the Garden by Dr D. G. Hessayon is full of facts, folklore and favourite sayings. As it says on the dustcover…this book might not make you a better gardener,Β  but it cannot fail to open your eyes to the magic of gardening.

Happy reading!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The magic of gardening

  1. I think you would enjoy ‘Tender’ by cookery writer Nigel Slater, it’s more than a vegetable cook book, it’s about his passion for growing them too.
    http://www.nigelslater.com/tender_volume-one.asp

  2. Jo says:

    A good selection of books there. I particularly like the sound of The Natural Gardener, and The Bedside Book of the Garden sounds like something to dip in and out of. I’ve got The Vegetable and Herb Expert, as well as some others from that range. They’re good reference books. I love books, I can’t get enough of them.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks! If I had a garden it would be just like Val Bourne’s, The Bedside Book is ideal for doing that and I’m sure that just about every gardener has at least one Expert book for reference. Me too! xx

  3. VP says:

    I won a copy of Val Bourne’s book a couple of years ago and I think you’ll like it πŸ™‚

    A good selection there, Flighty – happy reading!

  4. Damo says:

    I’ve read the bottom one Flighty, a nice mix of garden related stuff.

  5. These look like good books to read for a beginner like me. All I have read on gardening is Gardening Made Easy. I need to check some of these books.

  6. Glo says:

    I think it’s wonderful to have a varied collection of books for reference and enjoyable reading, especially when they refer to something you have a passion about. It looks like you have a good supply ~ it makes cold wet days a little brighter when you can anticipate and plan for spring!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo these are just about my entire gardening collection, and if the weather continues like today – wet and windy – then I’m going to need a good supply! xx

  7. alison says:

    happy winter reading flighty πŸ™‚

  8. Carrie says:

    Andrew likes Dr Hessayon so I think the Bedside Book would be an excellent Christmas present – thanks Flighty xx

  9. Ellie says:

    A good selection, Mr. F. Just a cup of tea and some biscuits, and a cosy fire needed to ensure the winter doesn’t seem as long. One vegetable gardening book I refer to, time and time again, is ‘Grow your own vegetables’ by Joy Larkcom. She is particularly good on growing cut and come again veg. x

  10. hi Flighty! thanks for the garden reading suggestions. i’m always on the hunt for new reads.

Leave a Reply

