I wish…

that last Wednesday night’s frost had held off for just a while longer so that I could have strolled round the plot today enjoying the flowers.

As it is I’ll just have to look at these recent photos of a dazzling cosmos Purityvarious colourful nasturtiumswarm pot marigolds like thisthe wonderful sunflower Earthwalkerand the lovely rose Valentine HeartWhy today especially? Well I’m a year older and that simple pleasure of a stroll round would have been as good a birthday present as any others that I could have given myself!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I wish…

  1. daffy says:

    Have a wonderful birthday my dear, dear friend.
    Alway remember you are loved.
    You came into my life some years ago now and you are in each of my days in one way or another.
    Having you as my ‘pal’ makes everyday a little brighter!
    Lots of love and hugs!
    (Betcha blushing xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

  2. Doris says:

    Dear Flighty,
    Happy Birthday! It is so kind of you to give US these beautiful flowers on YOUR birthday! 🙂
    Each flower has a cheerful face!
    Enjoy your day,
    Doris

  3. Jan says:

    As usual, your pictures always cheer me up! Have been to Burleigh house sculpture garden and gardens of surprise today- the sun shone brightly but very cold. Wish i could send you some pix but forgot my camera-have a look at the website! Hope you have had a lovely day on your birthday.
    Jan

    • Flighty says:

      Jan hello, and thanks for stopping by to comment!
      It sounds like you had an enjoyable day despite it being rather cold.
      I’ve had a fairly routine, but enjoyable and relaxing, day. xx

  4. Glo says:

    Happy Birthday, Flighty 🙂 Thinking of you on your special day ~ lovely to see the pretty flowers you have posted ~ I guess Jack Frost couldn’t wait and decided to pay you a birthday visit! Hope you have had a good day and treated yourself to some extra biscuits with your tea. I have had my sons over visiting for the weekend so haven’t had much time to blog.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo many thanks! It all looked fine until Thursday morning, and there was another frost last night to really finish it all off.
      Yes I had a good day although I did nothing special. There were posh chocolate biscuits at the horticultural trading hut this morning, mind you as resident teaboy I still had to make the tea and coffee!
      It sounds like you’ve been having a good weekend! xx

  5. Jo says:

    Happy birthday, Flighty. I hope you’ve had a wonderful day. What a shame about the frost, it only has to strike once for us to lose all our lovely blooms. We’ve been lucky this year, no frost as yet.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, it’s been an enjoyable and relaxing day thanks!
      It was a sad sight looking round the plot today as there was another frost last night. Lucky you! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Well, what are photos for, but to relive the wonderful things in our gardens! Happy happy birthday, dear friend. May your garden grow and your plot produce! Birthday hugs to you.

  7. Mas says:

    What a great set of photos! I know, it’s always a shame when the summer gives up and frost rolls in – overnight the landscape changes; soon to be beautiful, but not in the same way that it once was — at least, not until next year rolls around again.

    Happy belated Birthday Mr Flighty; I’d usually hope you had a great day and enjoyed yourself and had fun — but reading the post and the comments, it looks like you did just that. Have a really good day there, take care and have fun.

    M

    • Flighty says:

      Mas thanks, they are the the best of rather a lot taken in recent weeks.
      You’re so right but it’s the abrupt, and early, transition that has been unwelcome!
      Thanks, and yes I had a most enjoyable day doing nothing out the ordinary.
      This morning was spent enjoyably plotting with just a vocal robin for company.

  8. Ellie says:

    Wishing you a very happy – if belated – birthday, Mr. F. What a shame the frost destroyed your flowers. As you say, it is the simple pleasures that make the most precious gifts. And chocolate biccies sounds a very fine birthday feast to me! x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks! A shame indeed, and with another frost last night it’s now a very bare plot apart from the Michaelmas daisies.
      Yes and that’s something that we all tend to forget or overlook don’t we!
      They were very yummy but alas now just a memory. xx

  9. mrs K says:

    Flighty

    Belated Birthday wishes.

    Did not get round to putting computer on yesterday, as I (and the young man, 18 tomorrow, who now helps me in the garden and whom we have managed to get a place in the horticultural college near us) planted 150 spring bulbs.

    They were my belated Birthday and Christmas present to me.

    Without Autumn and Winter, Spring would not be, and as Spring and Autumn (wish we used ‘Fall’ why we have three anglo saxon words and then one Latin is beyond me)
    are my favourites I am just loving it all. We had our first frost last night up North.

    Off to join you in a belated choccy biscuit.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K many thanks! Those bulbs should provide you with lots of welcome colour come springtime. I find that they’re often the best presents!
      They’re my favourite seasons as well.
      I hope you enjoyed your biscuit! xx

  10. Damo says:

    Happy Birthday for yesterday Flighty! Lovely photos as always.

  11. Louise says:

    Yes, the frost finished off the cosmos. The marigolds are still OK, and some of the nasturtiums are just about hanging on! x

  12. Hi Flighty! I’d like to wish you a happy belated birthday. Sorry for being so late! And..
    What lovely flowers! Hugs.

Leave a Reply

