Last Thursday…

was National Poetry Day with the theme Home and apart from my post here’s a round up of ones that friends, and others, did who also joined in the fun.

Glo’s Far from home was a lovely true story-poem which included the wonderful word floofified!

Two similar poems both titled Home by La Spice and Jenray perfectly conveyed just what a happy place it should be.

It was a welcome surprise to see Mas commenting on my post, and even better that he celebrated this event with his poem home is.

Bookish Magpie joined in with her favourite poem, Daffodils, rather one about home.  That’s okay with me as I’ve heard of them being referred to as homely flowers!

I don’t recollect reading any others but if I missed some then my apologies and please comment here with a link.

I’m Sofaflyer over on Twitter, where I followed the days events, and came across this terrific two-liner by Rob Day.

I’ve also noticed that National Poetry Day has started a blog.

Have a good, and poetic, weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Last Thursday…

  1. Jo says:

    Daffodils is one of my favourite poems too. Of course, if you’re Welsh it could certainly remind you of home.

  2. Glo says:

    Thanks for the mention, Flighty and it’s lovely to read all the other poems as well… don’t ask me why I’m up at this hour of your morning ~ well, you may ask and you’ll find out why if you check out UHDD’s blog and then mine in response 😉 Another poem 🙂 I’ve been sofaflying whilst (Canadians say ‘while’) composing. It was a gorgeous sunny day, but now it’s way past bedtime. This sounds more like a ‘twitter’ than a comment, but I haven’t twittered yet. Being a twit kind of comes naturally though. Hope you have a wonderful day…

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome! I figure that you were still up in the early hours, which is way past my bedtime nowadays. Your purple giraffes ode is simply wonderful!
      Lucky you as it’s been dull and grey here the past two days so I’ve spent much of them mooching instead of plotting. The outlook is for sunshine but much colder! Thanks, you too. xx

  3. Maureen says:

    Thank you for including me in this post, Flighty! I enjoyed reading all the other poems too. Well done everyone!

  4. baço chato says:

    Thank you for the round-up Mr Flighty; I’ve just been reading everyone else’s poems from the day — didn’t they all do well? (I feel I’ve come all over a bit Bruce Forsyth there)

    I’ve added the national poetry blog to my feed-reader; thanks for the link. Have a good night
    M

  5. Doris says:

    Thanks for all the links. Lots of fun to read the poems, etc. And I must find a way to use “floofified” in my conversation some day. 🙂

  6. Thanks for the links to your friend blogs where I found beautiful poems. I enjoyed reading about Gustav the pigeon, the poem written by Porcelain Rose, and I also enjoyed the one written by Mas. I’ll visit all of them.
    Hugs.

  7. By the way what does floofified mean? I usually read English texts with a dictionary on my lap, but I couldn’t find it anywhere.
    Hugs.

    • Flighty says:

      Lady drid you won’t find it in the dictionary as it’s a word that Glo (Porclain Rose) made up, and which she says means fluffy and feathery! Hugs xx

Leave a Reply

