Autumn plotting

Thursday was sunny and warm so one thing I did during the morning was harvest the last courgettes (big & small), a mini pumpkin and a butternut squash. I’d forgotten all about the latter, which I think was a plant that my plot neighbour Margo kindly gave me.

I also picked the remaining borlotti beans to add to the ones I’d picked a week or so ago.  I’ll leave the unpicked runner beans to dry then just use the beans. There were a few good tomatoes but most had succumbed to blight so they and the plants went in the bin to be burnt.

Notable among the birds I saw were two parakeets which flew around very low overhead. I guess that if I’d not been there they would have been chomping on the sunflowers.

Yesterday was dull but dry which was ideal for digging and weeding the area where the tomatoes, mini pumpkins and sweetcorn had grown.  Whilst doing that one of the robins was my constant, and welcome, companion.

As you can see I’ve now dug over most of the three areas where I grow the vegetablesThis was taken from the bottom, southern edge looking north. Note the very tall, leaning sunflower on the left and the mauve michaelmas daisies
which I replanted from a pot almost a year ago. The comos,and other flowers should continue blooming until the nights get somewhat colder than they have been at present.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Autumn plotting

  1. alison says:

    oh wow! love the cosmos bright colours!

  2. Damo says:

    I’ve got loads of runners left over, I didn’t think of drying the beans and eating them, I’ll give it a go. Is that similar to Borlotti, for soups and stews?

  3. Doris says:

    Wonderful pictures as usual. Nice to see the wide-angle shot of the plots too.

  4. Jo says:

    Your plot looks really tidy and it’s nice to see some flowers still blooming. The colour of the cosmos is wonderful.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks but it’s probably not quite as tidy as it looks! Whilst I was there this morning I pottered round just looking at the flowers. It sure is and there’s some lovely white ones as well. xx

  5. mrs K says:

    Ah, just like allotments should look like, not too tidy and full of interest.

    I bought some winter flowering pansies Oct 2009, they were on the’ rescue’ shelf. One year later, after snow 17 Dec 2009 and ice which lasted till late February – they are still blooming. They have never stopped. No deadheading, no help, no nothing. We (that is my neighbours and I) are absolute fascinated they are the talk of the ‘steamie’.

    I just love the asters – mine always get mildew, so have given up on them.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K thanks, as you know I leave some areas untidy for the wildlife and there’s always something of interest!
      Your pansies sound llike they were a real bargain and even better have turned out to be ‘star’ plants.
      Me too, and thankfully there’s no sign of mildew. I’ve a white variety as well which is just about to flower. xx

  6. Hi Flighty, would love to see a snap of them parakeets if you ever get a chance. Great blog you have here by the way! 🙂 Will add your link to mine.

    • Flighty says:

      Craig hello, and thanks for stopping by! I’ve only ever seen a parakeet on the plot twice…the first time was nearly two years ago when I did get a photo
      https://flightplot.wordpress.com/2008/11/23/mostly-trees/
      and on Monday when I watched one chomping on a sunflower. If I ever do get to photograph one again it will get posted here.
      It’s good to know that you like my blog, and I appreciate you adding the link.
      I’ve had a quick look at yours and will have a proper read over the next few days, then add you to my lawn loungers list. Cheers!

  7. Glo says:

    Plot 124 is looking good, thanks to your planning, plotting, planting, pottering and picking 🙂 How nice to have some colour left as well. It sounds like it has been a particularly productive growing season, don’t you think?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, I think that the time spent doing all that has been well worth it this year. Yes the colour, especially on grey days is most welcome.
      Although the weather has been ‘difficult’ for much of the year I’d say yes I’ve had a good season for both vegetables and more especially flowers. xx

  8. Ellie says:

    It’s looking amazingly lush and green for the time of year. Cosmos are one of my favourite annuals – they just never seem to stop. I didn’t grow any annuals this year because of lack of space, but the dahlia tubers have put on a fabulous display. Next year – I can’t wait until catalogue-pondering time! x

  9. Flighty says:

    Ellie thanks, I better make the most of it in view of the weather outlook!
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/topics/weather/8061737/Snow-to-hit-Britain.html
    I can see why cosmos are one of your favourites and will certainly grow them again next year. I might even have a go with a few dahlias as well!
    Looking at the catalogues is one of the joys of armchair gardening during the winter! xx

Leave a Reply

