Home is the theme…

for today’s National Poetry Day,  and to celebrate this event I’ve chosen a poem by Patrick Hamilton who wrote it at Texas Tech University in July 2000.

It’s dedicated to the love of flight and the few who share his passion. The poem is an expression of his search for identity and a place to truly call home. He believes that only the few that have flown know this feeling and that home comes from within yourself.

Cloud Dreamers

A personal revelation

Few people know what makes us tick

Those few of us who fly till’ we’re sick

We do it for fun, we do it for kicks

Spilling through clouds, learning new tricks

This one selfish act, we perform next to God

Enjoying being lonely, thinking…

This pleasure of mine that I share with a few

Those who stick to the skies and prefer a dark brew

Keeps us close to our thoughts, allows us to roam

We dream of that feeling that brings you back home.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Home is the theme…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Home is the theme… | Flighty's plot -- Topsy.com

  2. VP says:

    A very good choice and one I hadn’t come across before. Sadly I forgot it’s poetry day despite all your efforts to remind me 😦

    In my defence I do offer a thought or poem every month…

  3. Jo says:

    A well chosen poem. I have to admit to not sharing his views on flying though, I much prefer my feet on firm ground.

  4. Mas says:

    Afternoon!
    That’s not a poem I’d come across before, but (like Jo said) a well chosen one. I wonder if we could substitute flying for whatever it is we do that — well — is our thing that exhilarates, excites and just generally makes us feel we’re in the place we belong.

    It’s been a while since I wrote anything, but my contribution for the day is here : http://ch4to.blogspot.com/2010/10/home-is-2010-m.html

    Have a good rest of the day!
    M

    • Flighty says:

      Mas hello, it’s good to know that you’ll still around!
      I agree about substituting flying as that’s what I found I was thinking when I first read it.
      I like your poem, perhaps because I can relate to it!
      Thanks, and you too!

      • Mas says:

        It’s been a while, but I’ve not been far — I think I’d like to think that I’ve been hibernating on the blog front or something; but it’s good to be back (it’s taken me a while to get back in the habit)

        Thanks for the comment – have a good evening
        (oh – and I’ve not commented on the other posts, but loved the photos from the plot; great flowers and veg — and those pumpkins are impressive — I’ve tried in the past, but not had much luck)

  5. nikkipolani says:

    What a dreamy poem, Flighty. Makes me think of all the wonderful cloud formations we’ve had this week with our weird weather. When you mentioned poetry day some time earlier, I had in mind a poem a friend wrote to me when there was quite a bit of upheaval:
    .
    change is good
    and uncomfortable
    and itchy
    and scary
    and seriously
    the best thing
    that can happen.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks! It certainly conjures up such images.
      I like your poem as reading it I think of home as an island around which much of our lives change. xx

  6. Glo says:

    Hi Flighty ~ The theme “home” generates warm thoughts to me. Of course the well known saying, ‘home is where the heart is’ rings true because no matter wherever you go, you take yourself with you 😉

    Although I’m Canadian now, I was born in England, so I feel that writing a poem for National Poetry Day for the UK is fitting. My poem is entitled ‘Far from Home’ is here:
    http://porcelainrose-glo.blogspot.com/2010/10/far-from-home.html

    I enjoyed reading the poem you chose as well.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I think that it does for most people, and that certainly is a famliar and popular quote.
      Fitting indeed, and thanks for joining in the fun with such a lovely poem!
      Flighty xx

  7. menhir says:

    Robert Frost wrote, what is for me, deeply fascinating poetry. As I have been lucky enough to visit a place where he lived in New Hampshire, I can understand more about his feelings of and about home. Visualising some of what he writes about, brings alive the imagery he uses in his language forms. It adds to the dynamic of my own imagination.

    The poem you have selected is a fun one. It must be a happy home.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir that’s a most interesting comment. I’ve read his poetry but must confess that I’m not a fan.
      Thanks, I was surprised at how long it took to find a good one on this theme! xx

  8. Maureen says:

    I really like this poem, Flighty! He makes flying seem very serene.

  9. I loved this entry. You chose a beautiful poem to celebrate the National Poetry Day. Thanks. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

