Pumpkins…

are a vegetable that I grew for the first time this year. I only grew them because I’d been given a packet of pumpkin Hooligan F1 hybrid which is a mini variety. I sowed two seeds direct in the ground and watched as both germinated, grew and fruited.  I’d clearly underestimated the area that they needed as they spread far and wide through the adjacent vegetables.

I ended up with 16 ranging in size around 3″/5″ diameter and 2″/4″ deep and various colour shades as this photo showsI’m not keen on pumpkins but should hopefully find a receipe that I like among all these. If not then I’ll give them away if anyone wants them, and if not then I guess that they’ll eventually end up on the compost heap.

I’ve still got a few of these seeds so I’ll be growing a couple again next year when I’ll try to remember to give them plenty of elbow room. I’ll also be hoping to enter one in next year’s horticultural show as I did this year.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pumpkins…

  1. Jo says:

    I grew Hooligans last year but I didn’t end up eating any either. My daughter had me carving some up for Halloween which was quite tricky given their size.

  2. Doris says:

    I just love pumpkins! Not to eat but to look at 🙂

  3. nikkipolani says:

    How cute are these?! My mom has a great recipe for pumpkin — kind of a quick stew that’s full of fall flavors. Even if you don’t eat these, they’d make great fall decorations 🙂

  4. mrs K says:

    Just in case Flighty – homemade chutney’s and jams make brilliant presents. I even make bread to go with them.

    Pumpkin and Ginger Jam

    Makes 4 jars (250 ml each)
    1 kg pumpkin , diced
    60 g freshly grated ginger
    1 lemon
    200 ml water
    500 g jam sugar (with pectin)

    1. Wash and dry the lemon . Grate the zest. Remove the white pith and discard. Cut the lemon flesh into small pieces.
    2. Place the pumpkin, water, lemon flesh and ginger in a large heavy bottomed pot. Cover and simmer until soft. Remove the lid for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking to enable the extra moisture to evaporate.
    3. Smash the pumpkin with a wooden spoon , or if you want a very smooth jam, press through a fine sieve.
    4. Add sugar and lemon zest. Cook for 10 minutes.
    5. Spoon hot jam into sterilized jars and close immediately.

  5. mrs K says:

    Oh and I meant to say, I don’t like pumpkin pie soup or anything else with pumpkin.

  6. those pumpkins are just plain fun! i’ll have to keep an eye out for that variety for next year.

    i was never a huge fan of actually eating pumpkins, until i had this soup. i swear, it will make you a pumpkin lover. here’s my recipe… http://bit.ly/cYDXnW 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Allison@a tasteful garden they are indeed! There are other mini varieties if you can’t find this one.
      Thanks for the receipe, which I may well try, and if I do I’ll let you know what I think of it! xx

  7. Louise says:

    I’ll keep my eyes open for pumpkin recipes for you Flighty! You could make some hearty soup to come home to after a chilly day on the allotment. I’d be happy just to look at them as they are, either inside or outside in the garden. x

  8. Ellie says:

    You had far more success than me. I planted about 10 plants and they all succumbed to one fate or another. I managed to grow just four! I’m not massive keen on pumpkin or squash on its own but they make absolutely fantastic soup and are also good added as cubes to a casserole. x

Leave a Reply

