Plotting around

I’ve moved the hydrangea out of the planter onto the plot where I hope that it will flourishTaking it’s place are various bulbs including narcissi Silver chimes and tulips Couleur cardinal. Under the woodchip covering there’s wire mesh to prevent any wildlife, such as foxes and squirrels, digging them up.

Several perennial mountain cornflowers grew in the middle of the potatoes so I’ve dug them up and replanted them in front of the log that’s in the top, north-west, corner replacing a broad-leaved dock!I’m still picking plenty of blackberries and runner beans, along with lots of delicious yellow tomatoesI’m definitely going to grow these again next year! I think that they’re the aptly named variety Golden sunrise.

Glo (Porcelain Rose) will be pleased to know that the Canook boys are okay and I finally found them on the borlotti bean cane wigwamI think that they’re keeping an eye on this rather large courgette,which is way longer than my size ten wellie boot!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Plotting around

  1. Jo says:

    I have a hydrangea in a pot but it doesn’t ever seem to get going like I’m sure it would in the ground. I bet your’s puts on lots of growth now it can spread it’s roots about. The tomatoes look delicious, I’m eating lots of mine in sandwiches for my lunch, I love them this way. Isn’t it funny what you can find when you’re picking beans? They’re obviously protecting your interests and guarding your crop.

  2. Flighty says:

    Jo it flowered last year but the two frosty nights in May badly frosted it so it didn’t this year, it’ll be interesting to see how it does next year.
    The tomatoes really are delicious, and I like mine in a sandwhich with cheese.
    I move the boys around and had forgotten where they were! They’re actually flower ties which Glo over in Canada sent me hence the name. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, your hydrangea is going to love being in the ground! Hope it will really thrive. And those tomatoes are gorgeous. They look like a nice size, too.

  4. Doris says:

    Such a cheery post and I love the stretched out frogs!

  5. alison says:

    hey…. so nice to see the frogs again. i really like to see the boys, they make me smile. and those tomatoes look so good. happy weekend!

  6. Glo says:

    Good idea about transplanting the hydrangea and it will be most interesting how it fares next year. Those tomatoes look absolutely scrumptious, Flighty! How about I trade some pears for a taste or two πŸ™‚ Glad to see the frogs holding up their end at last, after their lazy summer dipping their toes in the pond last year! Thanks for the link as well. I hope you have a pleasant autumn weatherwise ~ we are definitely having cooler weather than usual.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks and I hope that it’ll be okay!
      The tomatoes really do taste as good as they look. I wish we could as the last lot of pears I bought were rather tasteless and slighty mushy.
      I did take some photos of the boys a few weeks ago but then accidently deleted them, and I then forgot that they were hidden away in the borlotti bean foliage!
      There’s been plenty of sunny days, along with a couple of rather chilly nights, but it looks like getting warmer again next week. I hope that it warms up there as well! xx

  7. Damo says:

    Those tomatoes look great Flighty, Golden Sunrise I must remember the variety when the seed catalogue arrives!

  8. Ellie says:

    The boys are very cute – and they’ve clearly been whispering encouragement to your borlotti beans. I’m going to try Golden Sunrise next year – they look a perfect size and I love the cheery colour. x

  9. Liz says:

    I love the Canuck boys and the yellow tomatoes look very tasty.

Leave a Reply

