Do not disturb!

I’m usually at home at lunch time and all next week I’ll be hanging out the Do not disturb! sign and settling down on the sofa to watch five wonderful musical films that Channel 4 TV is showing.

Monday at 12.20pm is the classic comedy musical Singin’ in the Rain (1952) with Gene Kelly and Debbie Reynolds.Β  I love the terrific dance number Make’em Laugh that Donald O’Connor does.

Tuesday at 12.05pm is the biographical musical drama Love Me or Leave Me (1955) featuring Doris Day and James Cagney.

Wednesday at 12.15pm is The Band Wagon (1953) starring the incomparable Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse.

Thursday at 12.15pm is Brigadoon (1954) an often overlooked musical fantasy with Gene Kelly and Cyd Charisse.

Friday at 12.10 is Gigi (1958) which is another great Vincente Minnelli film that won nine Academy Awards.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do not disturb!

  1. Jo says:

    It sounds like you’ve got your week sorted there. I rarely get chance to turn the TV on during the day but if I do I’m usually catching up with something I’ve taped.

  2. Flighty says:

    Jo I very rarely watch daytime TV but I’ll watch these instead of reading whilst having lunch. xx

  3. daffy says:

    Now you know that all of these films are right up my street!
    Especially, Love Me or Leave Me!
    http://www.dorisday.net/mgm.html
    Sounds perfect afternoon activity to me. (Active as in, Get up, kitchen, biscuit barrel, sofa) :o)
    You never know… You might be able to catch an episode of Oprah afterwards! haha
    I wonder if I could put in a weeks holiday at short notice?
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I know! That’s the one I’ll probably miss unfortunately.
      Activity as in sofa flying!
      No way, I’d go and make a cup of tea as I don’t like programmes like that.
      You could record them to watch another time! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Fun stuff to watch, Flighty! Look at all that lunch time entertainment. Hope your weekend is a lovely restful one. Still trying to keep the hissing and chasing down to a minimum at the nikkipolani household. Wimsey has gone home and that has reduced the general mayhem to a dull roar. Happy watching!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure makes a welcome change to have some fun stuff to watch!
      Thanks, the weekend will certainly be restful compared to last week.
      I’m sure that they’ll soon get fed up with doing that and settle down. xx

  5. Doris says:

    Sounds like a wonderful way to spend time! πŸ™‚

  6. menhir says:

    Well I never, Mr F! You’re nothing if not versatile. I did not expect to be seeing lists of films, lightly reviewed, on your plot site. This could be a great way to get some more planting ideas, while going down memory lane. πŸ˜‰

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I do very occasionally wonder off plot, so to speak, with a post like this!
      Watching them certainly, and fondly, takes me down memory lane and you’re right about getting planting ideas. xx

  7. Ellie says:

    That’s an excellent line up of films – I’m very tempted to rearrange my week and join you, so to speak!

Leave a Reply

