Don’t spend it all at once

At yesterday’s Newton Park Horticultural Society show my mini pumpkin Hooligan F1 hybrid attracted a lot of comments and compliments but failed to impress the judge as it didn’t win a prizeMy other entry,  a collection of four kinds of vegetables (novices only),  did better winning a third prize which won me the princely sum of 15p. Someone said…Don’t spend it all at once…which made me laugh as the entry fee had been 15p,  and besides which I didn’t even collect my prize!

It was a most enjoyable day and deemed by everyone to have been a great success. There were nearly 500 entries which was up around 10% on last year.This year fellow steward Peter and myself accompanied the flower judges rather than the vegetable one. It was fascinating insight watching them decide on the winners.Once that was done we all had lunch then the show opened to the public. Plenty of people visited to look round before it was time to award the various cups and medalsThe best in show award deservedly went to this entry with everyone commenting on those fantastic looking carrotsAll too soon it was time to call it a day and an hour later the hall was once again clear. A few of us then took our much needed drinks outside to savour the end of what had been a long but highly worthwhile day.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Don’t spend it all at once

  1. oanh says:

    Congratulations to you and your vegetables!
    I would have definitely have awarded a prize to that cute-as-a-button pumpkin!

  2. daffy says:

    The Photographs are great and I am so glad you all enjoyed the day! It’s also good to see there is more interest. I think in this current climate gardening is way to both enjoy the garden/allotment and reap the rewards!
    Love your little hooligan!

  3. Doris says:

    Congratulations on third prize! And despite not impressing the judge, I think your mini pumpkin is adorable. 🙂

  4. Damo says:

    Well done on your prize. I agree those carrots look great and not the easiest veg to grow.

    • Flighty says:

      Damo thanks, I’ll have enter that class again next year to try and win it! Even the real serious growers were impressed with them, and one said that all he could ever do was dream of carrots like that!

  5. Ellie says:

    Congratulations – that’s a great achievement given all those entries. It certainly looks an impressive show. The carrots are indeed extraordinary – worthy winners. I can but dream … x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks, and yes I suppose that it is! It has a reputation for being one of the bigger and better local shows. The grower, a very modest guy, was saying that he couldn’t believe his luck when he pulled them out of the ground and that they taste as good as they look as well! xx

  6. Carrie says:

    it was a fix!! your pumkpin should have won over all veggie – oh people get so jealous!
    why didn’t you collect the 15p? I would have 🙂
    Great looking show, thanks for the tour xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie lots of people liked it so perhaps the winners should be picked by people voting rather having judges!
      I forgot but most people don’t bother and the money goes to good charities.
      Thanks, you’re welcome! xx

  7. Jo says:

    I’ve been wondering how you got on at the show, Flighty. Congratulations on your third. I grew Hooligan last year, they’re so cute, you should have won with that. It’s good that the entries were up on last year, It’s good that people are supporting their local shows. Those carrots look amazing, they’re one thing which I can’t seem to grow.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it was a really good day, made even better with my win! Obviously the judge thought that pumpkins should be beach ball sized.
      Yes we were surprised, but pleased, at the increase in entries and withthe support that we got.
      They were the most talked about vegetables, nor me! xx

  8. Glo says:

    How cute is that little hooligan pumpkin! I can see why it was able to sit on your windowsill 😉 Congratulations on your other vegetables as well and for the recognition you received. Interesting to find out the judging process, too. It seems to have been a perfect day with so many entries and visitors. It’s wonderful to see the interest shown in these type of events, to celebrate the harvest and to encourage others to bigger and better things. It’s all a shared learning experience. Thanks for taking us along 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’ve an even smaller one but it’s slightly blemished unfortunately!
      Thanks it all makes it that bit more worthwhile. It was fine day all round with no hassle and just a few minor problems. I agree with what you say, and it’s good that many exhibitors were happy to chat as they did with the visitors.
      You’re welcome and I was happy to do so! xx

  9. mrs K says:

    Way to go – ‘you Hooligan you’. Missed you Flighty and was beginning to worry a little.

    But you’re up and running and taking fantastic pictures again. Did the guy who won the carrots grow them in sand?

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I suppose I could say that I’m a happy hooligan! Sorry about that.
      Taking photos there is difficult as they tend to be on the dark side.
      No he just grew them in sifted multipurpose compost and did nothing but water them regularly. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Hurrah on your prize, Flighty! Your tomato looks absolutely perfect — how have you liked the yellow ones for flavor? Looking through the photos of all that gorgeous produce makes me want to cook. As though a natural ending for such an event would be a dinner 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! I like the yellow ones which are about golf ball sized, juicy and sweet. I picked about 20 of them this morning!
      All that would sure make a mighty fine meal! It would be a nice way to end the event but sadly we had to made do with a cool drink, a packet of crisps then home to an early night!

  11. Anonymous says:

    well done flighty xx

  12. oh my gosh, i’d be in heaven to have been there! congrats on placing 🙂

  13. Louise says:

    What does the Best in Show win, 50p! I agree, a charity is better off with your 15p. Your lovely selection of veg deserved to win an award. Well done Flighty. Those carrots look like they’ve been polished with Mr Sheen! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise yes all first prizes are 50p! Thanks, I’ll have to enter again next year to try and win the class! I was surprised how many damp clothes and dusters were to be seen during the staging. xx

  14. menhir says:

    It looks like you had a very warm and rewarding day Mr F. I have been to some Scottish flower and horticultural displays this year, your veggie pix reminded me of some of the specimens I had seen. I am at the vague stage of thinking about making a compilation of a range of pictures and posting them.

    I do like your squashes. I marvel at how some of the flower displays get transported and arrive at a show, looking unscathed.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir yes it was a really good day! It sounds like you’ve been enjoying yourself as well just as an onlooker.
      A compilation of pictures sounds like a good idea to me!
      Thanks. The flowers all get arranged on the day rather than beforehand, which certainly makes transportation easier. Watching how people make up elaborate displays is fascinating. xx

  15. Liz says:

    Isn’t that the truth! How much is spent on the costs attendant to the final product, from seed, to garden, to harvest, to horticulture specimen. There is a book aptly titled the “$64 tomato” about one man’s process and tally of the cost to him to grow heirloom tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

