It was a beautiful morning…

yesterday which I spent on the plot. I deadheaded the pot marigolds which still have lots of flowers with more to come. I pulled up the French climbing beans which had died back and took down the supporting canes. I’ve kept a handful of beans to dry out so that I can use the seeds next year. The area where I grew them, near the middle of the top end of the plot, I dug over and weeded as that’s where I’m going to replant my hydrangea out of the planter that it’s in. Sadly it didn’t flower this year and I’m guessing that’s because it got badly frosted during May.

I’ve been on the look out for a better log seat than the one I’ve got and finally found one earlier in the week. As you can see it’s ideal being chunkier and taller The old one has been relegated to the log pile.Ā  On the right is the grape vine which I shall prune and train following Joe’s advice, and hopefully I may get some grapes next year!

It’s the Newton Park Horticultural Society show on Saturday which I’m looking forward to, and where I’ll be stewarding again as I did last year.Ā  I’ve been dithering about exhibiting anything and have finally decided to enter a couple of classes.Ā  One is for pumpkins where my mighty entry should provide a few smiles.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It was a beautiful morning…

  1. irishpisky says:

    ….good luck in the competition…we must have a photo of you with the first prize!

  2. Jo says:

    We’ve had some gorgeous weather here this week and today looks set to be more of the same, typical really as the kids are back to school today. Good luck at the show on Saturday.

  3. Jenny Aspin says:

    No, you need a plush, well-padded armchair in which to rest after all your exertions, Flighty. šŸ˜‰

  4. Louise says:

    I’m all for smiles! Lovely to catch up with news from the plot. I have the day off today, and have so far cleaned the woodwork and some of the windows! Have just stopped for a quick coffee/blog break. I plan to have a tidy around and do some planting, in what is now a very Autumnal garden! Have a great day Flighty. x

  5. Louise says:

    Ooh, I forgot to say. Tesco have large packets of Plain Chocolate Digestives for a Ā£1. Just right for elevenses in the potting shed! x

  6. daffy says:

    Lovely to get all sorted and for me to get all caught up with your garden.
    I wish I was closer… after the demise of the cherry tree I would imagine there would have been plenty new seats to fit your seat, to choose from! *smile*
    I had two hedgehog visitors last night…. I’ve been having one visiting for a week or so now but I heard a lot of load snorting and snuffling last night so I sent Allen out to see what was going on and there were two hedgehogs…nose to nose… waiting for food! :o)
    .
    Good Luck with your pumpkin! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I hope to get the plot all sorted by the end of October when it’ll get left to the wildlife for the winter. I’ve also got a couple of old, but serviceable, plastic chairs that I was given.
      Lucky you having two hedgehogs to feed!
      Thanks, I feel I’m going to need it! xx

  7. We’ve had some beautiful mornings too, I’ve got to make room on my laptop, before I can down load the photos of the day though *sigh*
    Look forward to seeing the pumpkin.

    • Flighty says:

      Uphilldowndale that’s good, I really like this time of year! I’ve been sorting out photos again.
      At the moment it and others are sunning themselves on the windowsill! xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Hurrah for grape vines and pot marigolds! They are both looking very well. I have a good friend who’s got the most fragrant grape vine. They are Concord grapes and the scent is astounding. Flavour is quite sweet and grapey. Enjoy your lovely days, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki a couple of site visitors were admiring the pot marigolds when I arrived there this morning. I’ve really neglected the grape vine but following my planned move of the raspberries later on in the year it will then have more light and room to grow.
      Thanks, I sure will! xx

  9. Damo says:

    Good luck at the show Flighty.

  10. Glo says:

    I am pleased to hear that the weather has been accommodating and that you have been enjoying spending productive time on the plot. It sounds like you are well on your way to being prepared for the oncoming seasons. If you’d like some of my grapes, you are welcome to them šŸ™‚ They got away on me again this year and the grapevines have wended their way through all the other trees. If it wasn’t for the deer nibbling of the ends, I’m sure I could easily be trapped! Well, you’ve certainly peaked everyone’s interest in your pumpkin! They are early this year here as they are usually ready for Halloween at the end of October. It’s because of the crazy hot weather. It’s pear picking time here, though. Hope you have a great day at the horticultural show, which I’m sure you’ll thoroughly enjoy šŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s been a glorious week which looks set to continue at least over the weekend so I’ve been making the most of it! Other plot neighbours grow grapes so I should be able to as well.
      The pumpkin is looking good, as you’ll see in the next post! Lucky you with the pears, they and apples have done well here this year.
      I’ve just got back from helping get it all ready for tomorrow. There’s a record number of entries and it looks like being a good day all round. xx

  11. Glo says:

    ~ Just thought of something else (because my last comment wasn’t long enough ;)) I remembered that you said you had your pumpkin on your windowsill, and in case it is resting on wood, you may want to put a piece of cardboard between it and your windowsill. I had an unfortunate experience when placing a pumpkin on a piece of furniture which caused damage to the wood. Anyway, for more information, here’s a link.
    http://www.allaboutpumpkins.com/storing.html

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks for that! I always put plants, pots etc. on card or paper when I put them on any of the windowsills which are a mix of uPVC, painted wood and tiled. I’ll bookmark that link as it looks most interesting! xx

  12. alison says:

    looking forward for pumpkin photos šŸ™‚ good luck!

    • Flighty says:

      Alison thanks, pumkin photos will be in my next post! It didn’t win any prizes but my other entry, which was a collection of four kinds of vegetables, won a third prize. xx

Leave a Reply

