I hope you like them

I’ve been MrFlighty over on blog.co.uk since the end of 2005 but have really only kept that blog active as I’ve a few good friends there whose blogs I have always enjoyed.

One was Isadora whose posts always conveyed her joy of life and, being of a similar age, our viewpoints often tallied.

She underwent a major operation last September which although successful proved to be ephemeral as by the end of the year she was unwell again. Early this year she was told that the disease had spread to such an extent that nothing further could be done.

During February she did a friends only post So Hard informing us of the devastating news. Subsequently I sent her a personal message which ended…I will consider that the gladioli that I grow on the plot to be Isadora’s from now on and when they flower I’ll quietly say I hope you like them.

Sadly just two weeks later she passed away peacefully at home.

I was true to my word when I recently took this photo and I’m sure that on the gentle breeze came her soft reply…

They’re lovely, thank you!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to I hope you like them

  1. Marian says:

    Simply wonderful ~x~

  2. Jo says:

    I’m sure Isadora likes them very much, Flighty. What a poignant post, brought tears to my eyes.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks! She loved her garden, which was in your part of the country, and her favourite flowers were gladioli.
      Don’t tell anyone but I had to dab my eyes once or twice when I was writing this! xx

  3. mrs K says:

    Flighty,

    Somehow I knew you were special person.
    It also reminded me of ‘a few more flowers in the passage of life and less at the end of the strife’.

    Isadora knew.

  4. deyank says:

    A truly fitting post for your special person. Gladioli are very beautiful flowers. I have several of them in my front yard also.

    Did you know that Chippy had a mild stroke? He is up and around now. I’ve mailed off a card to him.

    Bill

    • Flighty says:

      Deyank thanks, I’m sure that she was a special person to many people!
      They certainly are and I grow several varieties, as do several plot neighbours so I get to see lots of them.
      I didn’t so thanks for that, and it’s good to know that he’s on the mend. I’ll send him a suitable e-card which should make him chuckle! Cheers.

  5. Doris says:

    A lovely, poignant post. I’m sure she would have loved both the post and the flowers.

  6. Damo says:

    They are a nice tribute Flighty, lovely flowers.

  7. oanh says:

    Flighty, they’re beautiful. Growing things are such a wonderful way to remember loved ones (including those we’ve never met) who have left us. I like remembering people with joy – a little sadness, too, yes, of course – but I have always found it more comforting to think how well they lived a life, to remember them as they lived or how much happiness they brought into mine or others’ lives, and the blooming of a special flower is such a wonderful way to do it.

  8. Trina McNeill says:

    That is beautiful and i’m sure Isadora would love them,she was such a lovely person, i still can’t bring myself to delete her name from my friends list 😦 xx

  9. Gillian Pollard says:

    Marian pointed me in this direction and may I say lovely flowers for a very lovely lady. I had the pleasure of meeting her with Marian just a few months before her passing and it is a memory I will treasure.
    I too cannot delete her name from my Blog UKfriends list :no:

  10. Carrie says:

    I can only hope that one day someone does something that beautiful for me. What a true friend you are xxx

  11. Glo says:

    What a lovely remembrance for Isadora. I remember you mentioning her when you planted the gladiola bulbs in her honour, so it is lovely to see that they bloomed so beautifully. A very thoughtful and poignant post.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! I took great care when I planted them and was so relieved when they grew then flowered. There’s more, different colours, still to bloom so I’ll be doing a plot gladioli post later on.
      Thanks again! xx

  12. Ellie says:

    A lovely tribute, Mr F. She was a gracious and kind lady whose absence from blog.co.uk I greatly miss. I wish I’d had the chance to meet her in ‘real life’.

  13. so sorry for the loss of your friend. you wrote a very touching post. Isadora’s gladioli are simply beautiful.

  14. Louise says:

    A truly wonderful gladioli, nurtured by a truly wonderful friend. x

  15. Liz says:

    What a lovely, fitting tribute to your friend, and a lasting memory for you each time they bloom.

Leave a Reply

